SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review
#1 Parent Robby - 2018-02-08
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I spent a year working at E-World a few years ago, and I would recommend the school to anyone interested in teaching English in South Korea. The owner, May, runs the school with her sisters. They were all incredibly helpful during my time at the school. They helped me get adjusted to life in Korea, guided me through the visa process, and often took me and other teachers on excursions on the weekends. I was lucky enough to have my own apartment, which was quite big, and about a 20 minute walk from the school. (My landlady was a North Korean refugee.) The school always paid me on time, and they also paid my airfare to and from the country. May even helped me organise a short stay in Japan on my way back home.

I’ve taught English in a number of countries, and of all the cities that I’ve lived in, Yeosu is still my favorite. It’s located on the southern coast of the country in a beautiful area with low mountains and hundreds of small islands. The city is big enough to have all the conveniences of an urban area, but small enough that forested areas are always within walking distance. There is a large industrial area nearby, but I never noticed any pollution in the city.

Overall, it was a great work experience, and I would be happy to go back if I didn’t have other commitments these days. :)

#2 Parent Daisy - 2012-01-23
Re: Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Coming to live in a foreign country can be tough. There are a million questions that run through a person's mind. Questions about the culture, location, people, and of course, all that fancy paper work needed for the visa application process. Because of this, a lot of teachers relocating to South Korea are unaware of the questions they should be asking about the school. Unfortunately, there are many bad private schools out there that will cheat an employee of benefits, hours, salary, and the list goes on (we've all heard the terrible tales). I was one of those newbies who didn't know what to consider or ask when I came to live overseas. After witnessing and meeting others teaching in South Korea, I realized just how much I lucked out.

I could state all of the great things about E-World Academy along with the great things the school has done for me over the last two years, but it would probably be repeating an earlier post (not to mention, you as the reader would get bored and scroll past the mushy details). So, instead of listing opinions that describe the school and owners as super awesome, here are some facts about the school that future ESL teachers should take interest in:

- You will be paid on time, every time.
- The school will work with you if you need financial help during the stretch of your first paycheck.
- You will receive medical insurance.
- Though you split pension payment 50-50 throughout the year, you will be reimbursed 100% at the completion of your contract.
- You will receive a 1 month bonus at the completion of your contract.
- You will receive help with the language barrier if you are ever sick and/or need to see a doctor.
- You will not find another school who can beat these hours and salary.
- You will never be hit up for overtime or unexpected extra hours.
- Your flight coming and going will be paid for in full.
- The school encourages collaboration and new ideas.
- You will have a casual dress code.
- You will be expected to have a positive attitude.
- You will not be filmed on CCTV for parents or other teachers to observe (my personal favorite).

If you're looking for a busy city with an awesome night life, a constant chance to meet people from around the world, a place with a lot of western culture, and a school located near hilarious comedy clubs, theatre, and live music, then Yeosu isn't for you. Which is why many go to Seoul. However, if you're looking for a city that is laid back, has a beautiful landscape, kind people, and a place to immerse yourself completely into Korean culture and pride, then come on down to the south! If you find yourself interested in those aspects of living in a foreign country, without a doubt, check out E-World. I couldn't imagine a better school.

-Daisy Teacher

#3 Parent Callie - 2011-07-13
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I worked at E-World for a year from 2009-10. It was difficult for me because I was also working on the first half of an extremely demanding master's degree. I did not have the chance to get out much, travel, etc-- I spent my year working and studying. That's about it.

I won't sugar-coat things -- the Han Family is remarkable but they are people too. You probably will get along better with regards to being treated as family if you are friends with the family. People who have their own lives will have different experiences. Yes, there are legitimate complaints... but when is the last time you spent a year working and didn't complain? I wonder that people who complain didn't cause some of their own trouble. I know I caused plenty of my own problems. If you do choose to cultivate a personal relationship with your employer, then it's doubtful you could find a nicer family. They certainly extended every kindness to me, even though I lived like a monk.

There is an old adage about ignorance and malice. These folks are getting better at the business and they deserve the same respect they give to new teachers. Dealing with stressed-out foreigners year after year is hard enough without trying to con them out of some small money. Paperwork for this game is tremendous and they aren't lawyers. If you choose to work overseas, be a smart adult and figure out the financial details so you can take care of yourself. The bank is across the street and the teller has a translator on the computer. Deal with your pension before the last minute. Keep a copy of your contract. Watch your spending.

The boss and teachers of the school went out of their way to help accomodate me while I was working on term papers or had major conferences with professors. I used every last vacation day (and then some) to meet my school commitments. The Han Family and the other teachers of E-World covered me without complaint. I worked myself sick more than once, and Lydia was always kind enough to walk me to the doctor, even when I wouldn't have gone myself. That's not just a company wanting to make sure teachers are able to work-- it's a family business that cares for the people who work there. And the rumors about ordering pizza are true. They are just that darn nice. Do they have crappy days or feel hateful sometimes? Probably not as often as the foreigners.

I was under tremendous pressure during my stay in Yeosu. I wasn't the most energetic or exciting person to be around, but I was always treated with kindness and courtesy. I am sure I couldn't have imagined how difficult it would be to burn the candle at both ends for a solid year; and I am sure that it was more than E-World expected to have to deal with when they hired a full-time student. It's not a vacation it's a business. Every foreigner has a different agenda. The school only has one.

I saw their video on youtube today and I say WAY TO GO. The folks up there are good people and they really do their best. Everyone should ask themselves what that really means before reading any weird reviews from angry people. You get out of it what you put into it. That's better than many situations.

-Callie

#4 Parent Kelli - 2010-07-21
Re: Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Funny, I'm heading back to E-World for a second year at the end of the summer and randomly decided to google it tonight. I was definitely NOT expecting to find a huge thread about the school and, truth be told, I had forgotten all about the review I had written of ChildU right before I left! I was quite surprised to see messages added to this thread, especially the negative ones from Theo.

You're right, (keep in mind I do not know Cassandra) there are some striking similarities between our posts; in agreement with Amanda - the only explanation is that THEY ARE TRUE. The year I spent living in Yeosu working for May and her family was bar none one of the best experiences I've ever had. So much so, that after deciding to return to Korea for another round, I immediately knew that I wanted to come back to Yeosu and work for E-world. The school and staff are amazing.

May and Lydia opened their hearts and home to me when I was there last. Everyone was always looking after my well-being and it was nice to have that during my first experience living abroad. I couldn't have asked for a better boss ... or family. The Han family and employees of ChildU were so helpful and supportive (like I said in my previous post) - they took me to the doctor on multiple occasions, ordered me pizza when I was craving it, took me on excursions through the countryside, and basically made me feel at home. We all hung out after work and on the weekends... like I said, a GREAT family. Definitely a much better experience than many friends of mine who have taught in Korea.

ZERO complaints from me about my experiences working at ChildU (now E-World) - quite the opposite, really. We had all of the materials and supplies needed, we had the freedom to teach the curriculum in our own unique way, May was always open to new suggestions, the working hours were fantastic, and the staff room was always full of laughter.

If there are any prospective teachers thinking of working at E-World - please feel free to contact me as well. I'd be more than happy to answer any questions you have as I would recommend this school to anyone looking to work at a hagwon. ... and hey, maybe we'll be co-workers this year!

#5 Parent Brad - 2010-03-25
Re: Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I worked at E-World (formally Child U) for 3 years from 2005 to 2008. I left to return to school, and want to return there again someday.

You honestly could never find a better situation to teach in Korea.

The owner is the most genuinely nice woman I have ever met and she went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable while there. The school is well managed, the ESL teachers have free range to teach how they like, and the kids are excellent.

The living situation was a shared 3 bedroom flat, but it was bigger than my apartment here in Canada. Yeosu is a great little city, and I will always consider it to be my home away from home.

It is easy to be cynical to these postings, but I assure you that E-world is a great school.

Thanks
Brad S.

#6 Parent Theo - 2009-08-12
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Amanda:

I will say however, those of you with any math skills (as well as common deducing abilities) will have already gathered that I have not been in Yeosu for three years consecutively, but three years with trips home in between/

Amanda, it's 2009 and you said earlier "I'm on my third year." To now imply that readers should assume details of your personal past is ridiculous (especailly expecting us to assume your "trips home" last for one year each).

I was hired in 2003 when the school first opened. I returned again in 2005, 2007 and here we are in 2009 (that's four years). In 2007, unfortunately there were no vacancies for teachers at E-world, because everyone who starts there (with two exceptions over 6 years - three foreign teachers ever year - you do the math) finishes their contract.

This is FIRST time you've offered this information, and yet you thought nothing about saying Linda's post was inaccurate, and bascially called her liar.

Again, I am not quite sure why Theo is so emotional about all this but I will tell you that we are under no pressure from our employer. She doesn't even know that I am writing here. And again, Cassandra posted here by mistake.

I think you're the one being emotional:

What Linda typed is completely inaccurate on so many accounts. All of the "truths" she was allegedly "told" were actually fabricated in her own mind. Being the teacher who helped hire her and the one who had to live through her visit here, I can tell you that she is not an honest person and she made her own experience here what they were.

Amanda continues:

If any serious teachers have any specific questions concerning the school or the city I will be happy to answer.

OK, Amanda, Here's a question from poster eslguy:
eslguy:

Anyone recall the immigration building fire, in Yeosu back in 2007? I remember it. Though, it was swept under the rug, despite the deaths of muliple migrant workers.

Since you were there (in 2007 according to your quote above), and serving as a clearinghouse for information regarding Yeosu, what say you?

#7 Parent Amanda - 2009-08-11
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I'm really not sure what Theo has to gain by commenting on a post and a school with which he has no experience or knowledge. I am not going to fight with you Theo. That wasn't my intention when posting. I just wanted to clear up that Cassandra posted in the wrong location and I can understand why an advertisement for a school posted in response to a complaint for a school looks suspicious. Again, her lack of computer savvy skills are to blame.

Let me clear this up. I didn't break Linda's argument down point by point only because my post would be the length of a novel if I did. And I already did all that four years ago when everything was fresh. It's over. She's gone. And I'm still here.

I will say however, those of you with any math skills (as well as common deducing abilities) will have already gathered that I have not been in Yeosu for three years consecutively, but three years with trips home in between. I was hired in 2003 when the school first opened. I returned again in 2005, 2007 and here we are in 2009 (that's four years). In 2007, unfortunately there were no vacancies for teachers at E-world, because everyone who starts there (with two exceptions over 6 years - three foreign teachers ever year - you do the math) finishes their contract.

Again, I am not quite sure why Theo is so emotional about all this but I will tell you that we are under no pressure from our employer. She doesn't even know that I am writing here. And again, Cassandra posted here by mistake.

If any serious teachers have any specific questions concerning the school or the city I will be happy to answer.

Good luck

#8 Parent Theo - 2009-08-11
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Amanda:

Not reaching out to other foreigners or Koreans, shying away from the culture, the language and the food, she created her own experience here.

and

The ONLY two teachers to not complete their contracts were Linda, herself, and her friend, who was equally uninterested in the culture and people of this country.

OK, Amanda, fine, you're happy and under pressure to help recruit new teachers. I understand your situation well.

What I don't understand is your theory that genuine interest in Korean culture, food, people, etc., will bring a foreign teacher a good employment experience. It won't. I was quite interested in the cultural aspects of Korea (as well as China where I lived and worked for five years), but that did not bring about fair, reasonable, ethical ESL employment. Trying to discredit Linda's account because she had little interest in Korean food, or her collagues, only erodes the credibility of your counter claims. And now, thanks to you, we know there was another teacher ("her friend") that loathed the experience at that school as well. With you and Cassandra, that makes 2 for 2.

And since you like to mention dates in your wobbly defense, Linda's post was in 2005 and you claim to have been there since 2007 ("on my third year") so you weren't working there when Linda was there, nor can you honestly know how many teachers have completed (or not) their contracts since Linda's hire. Care to dig yourself any deeper?

Amanda:

Don't let the sour grapes of a woman who didn't put forth any effort influence your opinion of a school and a city you have never seen or experienced.

OK, readers, Amanda has a point, but on the flip, don't let the effusive post of teacher currently under contract (and likely pressure from her employer) wrongly influence your decision either. Amanda is telling you not to trust original poster, Linda -- although her post is well written, full of details, and rather persuasive (based on my own experience in Korea). So all I am saying to follow Amanda's own suggestion, and look askance at Amanda and Cassandra's posts as well.

#9 Parent Amanda - 2009-08-11
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I am a teacher at E-world now, with Cassandra, and was a teacher at ChildU with Linda. What Linda typed is completely inaccurate on so many accounts. All of the "truths" she was allegedly "told" were actually fabricated in her own mind. Being the teacher who helped hire her and the one who had to live through her visit here, I can tell you that she is not an honest person and she made her own experience here what they were. Not reaching out to other foreigners or Koreans, shying away from the culture, the language and the food, she created her own experience here.

Cassandra's only fault, on the other hand, is not being computer savvy. All she wanted to do is help the owners of this school, who have treated her more than fairly for the past year, find another teacher to fill the vacancy she was leaving. She posted this review of the school in the wrong place and she shouldn't be attacked for a response that she did not intend.

Honestly, as a teacher who has lived in this city and worked for this school for three years, it is a great place to work. The owners are fabulous and are some of my best friends here. They don't take their foreign teachers for granted and try their best to help us in anyway, from ordering pizza for us on Friday nights, to taking us to the new waterpark with their family. Don't let the sour grapes of a woman who didn't put forth any effort influence your opinion of a school and a city you have never seen or experienced.

#10 Parent Amanda - 2009-08-11
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

And the reason Kelli's post and Cassandra's post may have similarities is due to the fact that what they write is true. You can see that over two years (Kelli's post was in 2007 and Cassandra's in 2009) people are still having great experiences at the school and many of the people that have worked there over the years have come back to teach for two, three, or four years (I am on my third year at E-world).

The other thing I want to address is the statement from Linda that the school has a high turnover. The ONLY two teachers to not complete their contracts were Linda, herself, and her friend, who was equally uninterested in the culture and people of this country.

If you are a teacher looking at this post, considering coming to teach at E-world, feel free to post any questions and I will respond to them, personally.

#11 Parent Theo - 2009-08-08
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Wow, two VERY conflicting views, descriptions, and experiences with May and Lynda (between you and OP Linda).

Cassandra, you sound far more like a recruiter than a teacher.

Yours is one of the most effusive posts I've ever encountered with regards to living and teaching in Korea -- especially when compared to the one posted by Linda in 2005. Also your post reads almost verbatim to the one offered by Kelli Fisher. Interesting...

#12 Parent Cassandra Franklin - 2009-08-08
Re: E-World in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

Living In Yeosu:

I am currently working at E-World in Yeosu, South Korea. Yeosu is a small city surrounded by beautiful rolling hills and the sea. It has been convenient to live in an apartment that is but a two minute walk to all the important amenities such as a stunningly long walk along the water front, a gym, a grocery store, a pool, bakeries, bank, shops, bars, restaurants and not to mention the school. Also, for those into hiking, there are many mountains to be climbed (10-15 walk away) offering the most wonderful views of Yeosu. If beaches are what you are looking for, it is less than a 10 dollar taxi ride away.

On account of speaking to other foreigners, I am nearly certain that I have lived in one of the best apartments possible in Yeosu. The apartment is massive, with three large bedrooms (one being the size of a medium sized apartment ), a living room, large kitchen, washing machine (you must hang your clothes to dry), 2 bathrooms and a balcony undoubtedly fit for entertaining, relaxing, bbqs and so on.

The work environment at E-World:

The past year has been an experience of a life time. It can be daunting to just pick up your life and travel across the world to a foreign place; a place where they speak very little English and where you certainly stand out in appearance. There may only be around 50 or so other foreigners living in Yeosu (the majority of which are easy to meet considering there is a face book group and a lot hang out with one another quite often). I would suspect that adjusting to the Korean culture, which in my opinion is pretty traditional, especially in Yeosu, would have taken me a lot longer if I wasnt welcomed into my school by a very inviting boss (May), her sister (Lydia) and the rest of their family.

The laid back atmosphere created by this family run academy enables the teachers (3 foreign teachers, 5 Korean teachers) to really be creative and feel free to adapt their own teaching style. May is flexible and caring and always interested in her teachers. Lydia is forever thinking about others and has gone above and beyond to make sure I felt comfortable over the past year. They understand what its like to be away from home as they have both lived in Canada and therefore are always looking for new ways to care for new teachers. Both May and Lydia have taken me exploring around Korea; Lydia has done everything from helping me sort out my travel plans to Thailand and Japan, to taking me to the doctor when I was sick, to ordering pizza, and if the night called for chicken, that too. Each and every thing that they have done for me has contributed tremendously to my positive experience here. I would recommend that anyone who is looking to teach English in a foreign country and for a lovely place to call home for a year would be ever so fortunate to work in both May and Lydias presence.

Teaching:

I will end on one of the most important facets of living and working in South Korea. The teaching experience I have gained at E-world has been invaluable. I have enjoyed it so much that I am already planning to come back to South Korea following my graduation from teachers college in Canada. The non-threatening, fun learning environment created at E-World offers over 300 students ranging from five to fifteen an excellent opportunity to learn English. With a Korean teacher and foreign teacher teaming up to teach each of the classes, the students have a lot of support and as a result have demonstrated the ability to progress quite quickly. As a teacher, this has been very rewarding to see. Taken together with all that I have written above, I think it would be best to say that my overall experience as a teacher at E-World deserves five stars!

#13 Parent Kelli Fisher - 2007-05-07
Re: Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I am currently working at Child U, and have to say that this review is so far from the Child U I work at today.

I read the previous review before I came here, in June 2006, and since I had a friend working here before me, I was assured that this picture painted of Child U was far from the truth.

I am leaving in 2 months, and hope that Child U finds someone great to work there. So, I wanted to share my opinion of Child U in Yeosu.

First of all, May and Lydia are fantastic. They have been nothing short of accommodating and supportive. Just today, May took me to the doctor because the clinic I went to didn't have a fluent English speaker on staff. (This is not the first time she has done so.) As for the insurance, I received my insurance card within my first month here in Yeosu.
All of the staff at Child U are very helpful, from calling to make train reservations to ordering food. They are always asking how we are doing, and are quick to help when we need something done. We often go out to dinner and on excursions together. May and Lydia both love to show their teachers the sights of Korea. We have a lot of fun at work.
Granted, sometimes it can get a little confusing at the beginning of the months when we get new students or classes, but it's not a common occurrence. It is a professional, yet fun and relaxed environment.

Talking to the other teachers in the city, we really lucked out with the working environment, the boss and the apartment.

The apartment we live in now is by far one of the best (if not THE best) for English teachers in the city. It has 3 large bedrooms, a laundry room, 2 bathrooms, good-sized living room and kitchen, and a large balcony. It is, at most, a 3 minute walk from school. We are on the top floor of a commercial building, so we don't have to worry about loud neighbours (as so many foreigners do, living in apartment buildings).

All of the teachers that have left since I came, did so because their contract ended. One even opted to come back for another year because our academy was such a great deal. None of them had any problems getting the bonus, pension or plane ticket. Perhaps that was because they fulfilled their obligations, and did not leave 7 months before their contract ended. I'm sure if I was a hogwan owner, I wouldn't be too accommodating for 2 people who left me in the lurch, and would be looking for some compensation for a breached contract. Again, I was not there at the time this person worked at Child U, and cannot comment on her experiences. I can only tell you what I have experienced in the past 10 months, working at Child U.

To sum it up, Child U is great. I love working here, and if I wasn't coming back to school next year I would probably come back. If I had any friends interested in teaching in Asia, I would most definitely recommend this position to them.

Linda - 2005-10-03
Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review

I worked for 5 months at Child-U. The recruiting agency said that my shift would be 3-9, Mon-Fri. and that my apartment was a 5-minute walk from school, which were appealing to me. However, when my school director, May, and her sister, Lydia, picked me up at the airport, May told me that I started every day at noon. Soon I became very tired from the long shift (12-9:30, with only one hour of breaks in total). I told May at least 3 times over several months that I found the schedule too tiring, and asked if she could change it; she told me that there was nothing that she could do. This also happened to the other foreign teacher, Maaike, who started 1 month before me. She was also offered a 3-9 shift and ended up working 2-10.
I finally e-mailed my recruiter and asked her why she had posted my job hours as 3-9. She said that it was May who filled in all of the details. When I confronted May, she initially said that when she posted Maaikes and my jobs at the same time, she wasnt sure who would work 12-9:30, so she just posted the regular work hours on both of our job postings. Interestingly, not one of the 7 teachers even works 3-9 (the others work between 2-10). May later admitted to me that sometimes she has to hide certain details in order to attract foreign teachers. I told her that I felt tricked; I would never have taken the job if I had known what the real hours were.
Also, the 5-min walk from my apartment to school was really 40-min. In the winter we had to spend a lot of money taking taxis home from school.
As for the school, it has about 300 students and is totally disorganized. The classrooms were also very tiny and overcrowded.
On my last night at work (I was flying out the next day) Lydia told me that they were deducting money from my final pay to cover the plane ticket to fly me to Korea as well as the recruiters fee. After a 3-hour argument with May and Lydia, May and I agreed that she and I would split the difference for the plane ticket and the recruiters fee, which gave me about $200 more. However, when the money was wired to my bank in Canada, it was short several hundred dollars. I e-mailed May over a month and a half ago asking for her to send a copy of the wire, but she hasnt.
One of the Korean teachers told me how May has cheated previous teachers on their pay and how she and Lydia were liars about so many things. During my fight with I even noticed that May was beginning to change things that she had previously told me or just denied them.
Also, our contracts state that we would get medical insurance 4 weeks after we began working, but we never did. I asked several times for it as I had gotten really sick from all of the pollution (Yeosu has over 100 chemical plants). The teacher that I replaced told me that she had asked for it for a year and never received it. When I confronted May, she said that they had submitted the paper work, but that the insurance company was taking its time.
The school has a very high turnover and I understand why. Unwilling to be taken advantage of anymore, Maaike and I finally ended up quitting after 5 months. I wouldnt recommend ANYONE to work at Child-U in Yeosu.

Return to Index › Child-U in Yeosu, South Korea - ESL school review






Go to another board -