SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan
#1 Parent Corey - 2018-07-22
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

My name is Corey and I worked at SLA for over 13 months from 2017-2018, and these stories are not true at all. The boss Claire is a nice and sweet lady who always helped me in class and to get adjusted to life in Gunsan. The classes are only 30 minutes per class and you teach between 6 and 7 class a day. 3.5 hours a day. It is true that you have to call students to make small talk, about 3-5 minutes per call, but that was the easiest part. We just reviewed the days lessons and for the older students we talked about any and everything. The small talk lasted about 60-90 minutes per day. So all in all I worked no more than 5 hours per day and I still had a nice social life and saved a ton of money.

#2 Parent Horror stories - 2018-07-07
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

I’ve heard horror stories about this school.

Apparently the boss Clair is one of those slave drivers that give teaching abroad a bad name.

Best steer clear of this one buddy.

#3 Parent Pump Gun - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

That's what always can happen to you at such "schools". Their bosses are completely unprofessional. disorganized and outright crooks.

Treated like a dog and threatened by the boss.
#4 Parent Crap school - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

Man I worked there for a couple of months.

Treated like a dog and threatened by the boss.

Not cool.

Avoid this school like the plague.

#5 Parent Yuri - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

Apparently her last teacher ran and she contacted the embassy of the counters he was going to and reported him for (false) criminal charges.

She succeeded in blocking his visa and cost him a fortune in money and hassle.

She also contacted his wife and told her (falsely) that he was having an affaire.

School name is SangSang Language Academy (SLA) in Gunsan.

The director is also the owner - Claire.

A true horror story school.

#6 Parent Yuri - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

Is this school still even open?

I can't imagine with all the bad publicity that they are still operating.

I've heard how that woman treats her foreign staff. Apparently the last teacher had some sort of mental and physical breakdown because the 'boss' (Claire) would only allow him like 5-10 min to eat.

Also when there were free classes she would force him to make phone calls to parents to make 'small talk'.

Apparently 3 out of 5 parents would hang up in his ear because they didn't care to be harassed.

Still this woman would force him to work like a dog without a break.

He left Korea - midnight run.

Do you want to waste time with a school like this?

There are decent schools with actual bosses. Not this bad joke of a school.

#7 Parent WTF?? - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

What a horror show school.

There are too many terrible stories about that boss lady.

Apparently if you work there is like a concentration camp.

#8 Parent Disgruntled teacher - 2018-03-29
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

What a horror story school.

I've heard many stories.

Can't advise to go anywhere near that place.

Horrible horrible people.

#9 Parent Claire - 2017-05-06
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

Run!!

Run and don't look back.

The boss is a sadistic, vindictive, egotistical bully.

Not a fun place to work and she won't let you go!!!

It's crazy man.

Stay away!!!

#10 Parent Shane - 2017-04-05
Re SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

It is wise to ask to talk to a current or past teacher to let you know what you're getting yourself into.

If the school is unable or unwilling to give you a reference from a past or current teacher then I would be weary.

There are many good schools out there, it's never a bad idea to cover all bases.

As Warren Buffett says "Never test the depth of a river with both feet".

Good luck!!

Newbie - 2017-04-03
SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan

Guys,

I have looked everywhere for info on this school and can't find anything!

Please tell me where I can find some info, I'm a little apprehensive about going to an unknown and seemingly unexistant school in Korea when there are so many horror stories.

Please advise!!

Thank you.

Return to Index › SLA SangSang Language Academy Gunsan





Go to another board -