SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China
#1 Parent Another Willie - 2018-01-19
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

You really should try rat meat. I heard that it is likely to strengthen efforts in MWGTism, lol.

I've never tried it. I don't want to try it!
#2 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-16
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

You cannot explain your own errors/mistakes, Mr. Pretend 'teacher'. I found another one in the extract from your text below. Poor English sentence structure is what is to be expected from Clifford "school" goons like you. On the other hand, your Chinglish excellent! :D

As for the other 'pick-up' ,I put a comma instead of a period. I won't bother to explain.
#3 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-16
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

The news is that Clifford serves rat meat in their school canteen! How delicious! :D

#4 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-16
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

No.
You must be the grovelling weasel par excellence. Your written English, in a brief text as it was, is quite mediocre for a native speaker, Mr. Nadiff Sbeaker. To put it mildly.

Let me be clear, whores, rats and the like have no business being mentioned on a teachers' forum. Do I make myself clear?
#5 Parent Colin - 2018-01-14
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

They say so indeed. And if you believe that Clifford in China employs native speakers, you are (unfortunately) wrong. At best, they are 100 % fluent in Chinglish. Cliffold is such a guhd skuuuul! And yes, that's Chinglish!
And you can correct all that when you work for them.. :\

" If they do it's very likely that they haven't learned their English from a native born FT. You really must say 'Really Delicious.' You cannot say 'very delicious.' "

You did return the compliment and made an attempt to correct my English. I don't like second language types questioning what I say. As for the hyphen, you can include it or not according to emphasis. As for my lack of a period- obviously a hurried error; whereas "very tasty" is a mistake only forgivable in first-year-students

off topic
also off-topic
adjective
If you describe something that someone says or writes as off topic, you mean that it is not relevant to the current discussion; used especially of discussions on the Internet.
In addition to the 81 positive comments, 26 students had neutral, mixed, negative or off topic views.

Let me be clear, whores, rats and the like have no business being mentioned on a teachers' forum. Do I make myself clear?

#6 Parent Colin - 2018-01-14
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Rats are not off-topic in ESL as you will be able to infer from the notes on that Chinese "school". You may enjoy this delicious food in their school canteen. BTW, I have taken the liberty to correct two errors/mistakes in your own English text below, Mr. Nadiff Sbeaker! :D

Having said that, rats should be off - topic, We should concentrate on English, please. For crying out loud!

I didn't make a mistake, it can be with or without the hyphen. The frightening thing is that you should know that if you call yourself a teacher. As for the other 'pick-up.' I put a comma instead of a period. I won't bother to explain.

Expert Answers
pohnpei397 | Certified Educator

If something is off topic it is not related to the subject or topic that it is supposed to be discussing.
There are a number of different situations where you might encounter this phrase, but it basically always means the same thing.  For example, if I assign a student to write an essay on freedom of speech and he starts to write about how the US government is spending too much money, I will tell him this is off topic.  He was supposed to write about freedom of speech, not about how much the government is spending.  Someone can also introduce a subject that is off topic in an oral discussion.

#7 Parent Togo Hulalia - 2018-01-14
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

They say so indeed. And if you believe that Clifford in China employs native speakers, you are (unfortunately) wrong. At best, they are 100 % fluent in Chinglish. Cliffold is such a guhd skuuuul! And yes, that's Chinglish!
And you can correct all that when you work for them.. :\

" If they do it's very likely that they haven't learned their English from a native born FT. You really must say 'Really Delicious.' You cannot say 'very delicious.' "
#8 Parent Pump Gun - 2018-01-14
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Rats are not off-topic in ESL as you will be able to infer from the notes on that Chinese "school". You may enjoy this delicious food in their school canteen. BTW, I have taken the liberty to correct two errors/mistakes in your own English text below, Mr. Nadiff Sbeaker! :D

Having said that, rats should be off - topic, We should concentrate on English, please. For crying out loud!
#9 Parent Colin - 2018-01-13
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China


They say it's very delicious. In sweet sour sauce... :D

"That they would serve rat meat in a canteen."

Do they say that indeed? If they do it's very likely that they haven't learned their English from a native born FT. You really must say 'Really Delicious.' You cannot say 'very delicious.' Having said that, rats should be off topic, We should concentrate on English, please. For crying out loud!

#10 Parent Silverboy - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

I've never tried it. I don't want to try it!

It is well known that Guangdong people will eat anything, sick fuckers!

#11 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

They say it's very delicious. In sweet sour sauce... :D

"That they would serve rat meat in a canteen."

#12 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Pretty good Chinese food then they should also serve abroad in a Chinese restaurant, lol.

#13 Parent Sleez - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Yes, the person you are replying to is known for her sweeping assumptions about people she has never met in person. And she totally lacks empathy for decent teachers in trouble. Not really a person I would wish to deal with in real life.

"Before making sweeping assumptions about a person, you might want to find out the details for yourself...it really makes you look quite stupid...."

#14 Parent monkey spanker - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

The rats can be seen all over the school and canteen area.Same story at pretend country garden school.

#15 Parent monkey spanker - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Meat is meat to these people, why waste any of it....... >:(

#16 Parent Silverboy - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

It shows you the calibre of such a "school". That they would serve rat meat in a canteen. I m sure this practice is widespread in the Guangdong region.

#17 Parent Tunalia Hogo - 2018-01-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

I have it on good authority that they serve rat meat in their canteen at Clifford School. Have a nice meal then and enjoy,lol.

"Clifford is a rat infested school in a industrial area, in the middle of waste land."

#18 Parent monkey spanker - 2018-01-10
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Guangdong Country Garden school hires teachers on a tourist visa. [] together with FAO office and [] and the vice principal [] continue to employ teachers on a F or L visa. You will be working illegally!

Also refuse to do the Monday morning cgs monkey dance

Clifford is a rat infested school in a industrial area, in the middle of waste land.

Both those schools royally suck the big one!

Go to Japan or Taiwan, like another poster recommended. Hell, Korea might even be better than China.

#19 Parent Silverboy - 2018-01-08
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Clifford sucks, CGS sucks, all these schools fucking suck! All shit places run by filthy parasites. Believe me, I know, I am an expert on this!

#20 Parent Nobama - 2018-01-08
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

What were you thinking Chuck, smart people avoid working for garbage places like Clifford.Think about it Charles! :D

#21 Parent Pump Gun - 2018-01-06
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Chuck, smart people avoid working for garbage places like Clifford. If you are qualified, you could actually do a lot better!

#22 Parent Silverboy - 2018-01-06
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Clifford also sucks. I know, I have lived in that area before. Keep away from all these shit provste schools.in China. Go to Japan or Taiwan, you will be better off.

#23 Parent Chuck - 2018-01-06
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Helpful. Thanks a lot, Garth.

#24 Parent Garth - 2018-01-05
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Chuck,

Clifford School is not a bad gig, but its not great either.You teach 3 classes in the morning and 3 classes after lunch.

They pay on time, several teachers from Guangdong Country Garden School are now at Clifford and enjoy it.

If your serious about a job at Clifford I suggest you join ISR International School Reviews, its worth the $29.95 year.

They have the good the bad and the ugly on Clifford.

Good luck, and avoid Guangdong Country Garden School ( unless you like to dance like a monkey) up the road from Clifford.

#25 Parent Chuck - 2018-01-05
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Please keep this thread alive. I am curious.

#26 Parent Zimple - 2015-12-18
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

@Current Teacher: So what are your `current` thoughts on the place, `teacher`? Teach us. We are the listeners. We are... Academic.
Other cat's obviously biased~ 7yrs's a lot. U?
|')
Thx

#27 Parent Savedbythebell - 2015-03-12
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

How would you know if he pulled a runner or not?

Obviously, pulling a runner is not a good idea, but in certain situations it's the only option.

#28 Parent Current teacher - 2015-03-09
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

[a teacher] didn't get fired, he pulled a midnight runner early in that school year shortly after he was paid his airfare reimbursement.

#29 Parent Poster - 2014-12-27
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

I was never fired. I left on my own accord. I am not a disgruntled employee, though as I have said, I hated working for this school, as the admin and Western principal were horrible. You can check out reviews on sites such as international school reviews to see for yourself what others think of that place. I was not desperate to stay there; I could have found a job elsewhere (for visa purposes), but in my final year I didn't want any headaches and really didn't want the hassle of looking for a new job and securing a visa. It's pretty simple.

I received numerous letters of praise from parents and even one from the director (which no other teacher had received according to the director). I always performed my teaching duties with the utmost of professionalism. I completed all administrative work well ahead of due dates. I have letters from colleagues attesting to my work ethic and teaching skills. I could post them here, but I see no need to bother going to that degree.

During my 7 year tenure, I witnessed some extremely disturbing behaviour from so-called "teachers". One teacher would physically assault students, while others would verbally assault them with insults. "Stupid" was a word I heard a lot in certain classrooms. All these issues were brought to the attention of the leadership, but nothing was done. My direct supervisor was aware of these issues, yet did nothing to stop it. As I have said, the Western side of the admin was only in place for marketing purposes, so not only were they incompetent, they were a major part of the problem.

Was my false post necessary? Probably not. Should I have done it? No. Was it ethical? Hell no. However, as I have said, it was my final year and I didn't want any headaches and as the principal had a personal grudge against me, I thought it may help if I said good things about him and the school. Was my post the reason why I received the contract in my final year? I highly doubt it...it was just a coincidence.

In any event, I have some good memories of teaching in China. My first couple of years at this school were good mainly because I was still new and didn't know of all the problems. So if I hated it so much, why did I stay so long? Visa! Location! Convenience! I was not in China solely for the purposes of teaching!! I was there for other reasons...

Before making sweeping assumptions about a person, you might want to find out the details for yourself...it really makes you look quite stupid....

#30 Parent Beth - 2014-12-21
Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China

Ahhh and herein would be precisely where you and I differ! You see his u-turn to be a welcome and honest criticism of a private school.

I see his u-turn as that of a disgruntled employee, fired from a place he previously enjoyed teaching who is now spitefully ranting about how dreadful it was (despite admitting he was desperate to stay working there!).

Sounds to me that he wasn't too good at his job and thought publicly singing his employers praises would save his job. And when it didn't he comes back to claim everything he said before was a lie and it really is a bad place (despite being desperate to stay there, you understand) and you should believe me now!

Which, of course, you will as it fits with your construct better than the other option!

Return to Index › Re: Clifford School in Guangzhou, China






Go to another board -