SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China
#1 Parent foxy - 2017-12-29
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Your post is much appreciated. Interesting stuff, indeed!

I reckon Yuncheng must be pretty boring these days, what with so few FTs working there. A far cry from the good old days!

Sorry to hear of the demise of Howard's Kitchen.

#2 Parent The Truth - 2017-12-29
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Looks as if the Yuncheng of 2001-2014 is a thing of the past.

I can clearly imagine how they treat non-native speakers from West Africa.

Since I used to see it first hand, no imagination needed.

Havana is gone along with the owner and dance instructor.

Two eras in YC.

2001-2008
4500-6000/month
FTs would all hang out., do scavenger hunts, could save good money, buy a local apartment, go on holiday, buy a car, start a restaurant, travel all over. Cost of living very low.

2008-2014
5000-6500/month
FTs would not hang out together as much, save some money, those there from 2001+ started a business, those who married bought an apt, bought a car, travelled. Cost of living low but rising. Lots of work at many schools to be had.
Paolos, Cafe Italia, Howards Kitchen, and the Walmart all made life easy.

2014+
5000/month
Cost of living no longer low, no community or camaradarie.
Hostility from locals.

2018
Paolos new owner, HK closes, fewer teachers, no permanent living arrangements, teachers shuffled around each month, West Africans paid much less than in 2001.
All long termers leave, as in the exodus of Beijing bloggers in 2013-14.

Seems the time for teaching in China is over.

#3 Parent foxy - 2017-12-28
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Exactly!

#4 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-28
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Yep, it is a disgrace that "men" like him exist in this world. A tosser and a total waste of space for sure!

#5 Parent foxy - 2017-12-28
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Exactly!

#6 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-27
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

And you are the ultimate beta male wimp, haha!

#7 Parent caring - 2017-12-26
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Looks like a Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School vs Rubbish Silverboy Posting. Oh, you're also the "Wise Man" now, aren't you?

#8 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I truly hope that your information is not correct. Selecting a Chinese woman in the first place is bad enough. To select one from Yuncheng is truly the pits and an act of utter desperation.

I doubt Taffy would stoop so low.

#9 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

We also have losers like you who have to teach IELTS to survive. You would not know what a research paper is. You are the ultimate liar and fraud. You had to settle for a Chinese as your partner. Your mother must be proud, LOL!
.

#10 Parent foxy - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Your post is much appreciated. Interesting stuff, indeed!

I reckon Yuncheng must be pretty boring these days, what with so few FTs working there. A far cry from the good old days!

Sorry to hear of the demise of Howard's Kitchen.

#11 Parent caring - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

The Truth may be that the board is manipulated for two reasons; one is that psychopaths sleep at their computers, the other that those forums aren't meant to be for teachers to share their real experiences on the internet.

#12 Parent RM - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I am not in Yuncheng anymore but know someone who is. EV no longer have the same amount of schools as they once did. A combination of all the new red tape, crap salaries and inability to get teachers are the primary reasons.

From what I have heard the number of native teachers is now far less than non native. I was informed that even all the FT's at Yuncheng University are now Africans. Even the Polish teacher they had quit. Apparently one of the county schools that EV has had FT's at since the beginning never has permanent FT's anymore and borrows them from other schools on an almost fortnightly basis.

The once popular hangout for foreigners has gone. It is now a hotel complex. Even the iconic owner went back to America.

I think unless the salaries are significantly increased then EV will eventually cease operations.

#13 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Um, well, what the fuck are you talking about? I am retired and I don't live or work in China anymore
I don't care about Yumcheng or any shit school there
Yes, I have been posting on here for nearly ten years. I read most of the threads and comment accordingly. Yep, I have plenty of free time so I have more of a chance to post on several websites Chill outs, it's Christmas Day, no work.

#14 Parent The Truth - 2017-12-24
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

That 3 posters:

kev
foxy
silverboy

Responded to this new post within hours in a thread dead for 28 months, reveals just how much YC English Village monitors and guides the replies here.

No one would respond so quickly to a nearly 30 month old thread unless they monitored it daily, as part of their work duties and then informed the current FTs or foreign residents to reply and control the narrative.

And if you aren't, and still live in China, and live in Yuncheng, and monitor this thread because you have nought else to do:

WHY?

Why are you there? Waiting to be arrested and surveiled as a lifestyle choice?!?

#15 Parent foxy - 2017-12-24
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I think Taffy can provide us with reasonably up-to-date information about Yuncheng as wifey hails from one of its counties, so it is said!

Take it away, Taffs!

#16 Parent Kev - 2017-12-23
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

The subject of this thread is definitely a hoary old chestnut.

#17 Parent Silverboy - 2017-12-23
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Correct. Chengdu was also the scene of pro-democracy demonstrations and a massacre in mid 1989 that the Chinese do not want Western people to know about. It was as violent as what happened in Beijing. Chinese people had balls back then. They don't have any now. These barbarians in control of "modern" China should be removed by force.

#18 Parent The Truth - 2017-12-23
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

You can add Shanxi Province to the list of places to avoid, period.

It seems that the 27th Army, based in Beijing, staffed by Shanxi farmers, were the ones who ran over 10,500 students in 1989 with APCs. Search for the Independent UK story week of Christmas, 2017.

If you talk with your students, you will find out how supportive they are of the Red Guard, who also had great support in Shanxi.

Research how the Shanxi Governor treated foreigners in July of 1900.

Just more of the same from Shanxi.

No reason to visit, live there, or work there.

Dec 24th, 2017 1255 GMT

#19 Parent ROXY IN CHINA - 2015-07-01
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

So we can now add Shanxi province to the list of places requiring the police check from home. What is confounding me is this: is this now a nationwide thing, or only at the provincial level?

My suggestion for anyone without a homeland police check or unable to get one is to contact one of the China-wide recruiters. A girl will be assigned to you to help you find a suitable job. Stress that you cannot provide nor obtain a homeland police check. Ask her to provide you with a list of all places that don't need a homeland police check, so that you may choose the provinces/autonomous regions/municipalities from that list where you would like to teach. Then she will do the rest. There's no point in her scamming you, as she won't get any commission unless you sign a teaching contract. The Chinese do not like to work for nothing. Do your two-semester gig, then fly home and get your police check done.

#20 Parent San Migs - 2015-06-30
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Thanks Roxy for getting further clarification on this criminal check issue. So we can now add Shanxi province to the list of places requiring the police check from home. What is confounding me is this: is this now a nationwide thing, or only at the provincial level?

#21 Parent ROXY IN CHINA - 2015-06-30
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I have taught at Yuncheng University since 2012.

When I first came they never asked for one. Upon renewing our resident permit last year, we were initially asked to sign a disclaimer (basically a few lines that the University had written saying we are free of convictions).

This year (2015) we were advised in April that if we were renewing we need to obtain a police clearance certificate from home. It needed to be the original certificate.

I had to pay for a CRB check from the Disclosure and Barring (DBS) service in England. This was all done online. My Mother then sent me the original certificate which the University accepted.

Perhaps the rules have changed this year for Shanxi province, but as always in China it seems to depend on who is following them.

Another friend in Linfen reported the same as me. He had to get one this year or he would not be granted a resident permit.

Thanks for sharing. Your post, along with that of 'the truth', tells us a great deal. As I mentioned to that poster, the school is out of Yuncheng, in the hinterland. Less traffic there, but many curious locals!

#22 Parent ROXY IN CHINA - 2015-06-30
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Standard in Shanxi, I think so in most of China. As in all things PRC, 'it depends'. All of the long termers did not have to do this when I was there; all of the new hires had to do it. It depends when you arrived.

The requirements vary from province to province or SAR or muni.

The requirement for a BG check began about 2-3 years ago, now it is a fairly standard item for a PRC teacher application.

I do not know if they are asking for the apostille stamp yet, that will likely come about in the future as a requirement.

You will need a local BG check and a national one to show your clean criminal record. Usually two are required.

Fairly standard these days in the international hiring space. Many countries require this.

Thank you for your detailed response. It's very interesting. BTW, the direct employer of the girl is a public middle school in the Yuncheng hinterland. She has blonde hair, so she can expect to be the centre of attraction out there!

BTW, when you LEAVE your China job, it will be nearly impossible for the local police or PSB to give you a criminal clearance for China. They just won't do it. The usual PRC nonsense.

Yet another thing to think about.

Yes indeed. It could be detrimental to one's future employment involving contact with young people.

#23 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-29
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

So, is the criminal background check mandatory for Shanxi's foreign teachers?

Standard in Shanxi, I think so in most of China. As in all things PRC, 'it depends'. All of the long termers did not have to do this when I was there; all of the new hires had to do it. It depends when you arrived.

The requirements vary from province to province or SAR or muni.

The requirement for a BG check began about 2-3 years ago, now it is a fairly standard item for a PRC teacher application.

I do not know if they are asking for the apostille stamp yet, that will likely come about in the future as a requirement.

You will need a local BG check and a national one to show your clean criminal record. Usually two are required.

Fairly standard these days in the international hiring space. Many countries require this.

BTW, when you LEAVE your China job, it will be nearly impossible for the local police or PSB to give you a criminal clearance for China. They just won't do it. The usual PRC nonsense.

Yet another thing to think about.

#24 Parent Dan - 2015-06-29
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I have taught at Yuncheng University since 2012.

When I first came they never asked for one. Upon renewing our resident permit last year, we were initially asked to sign a disclaimer (basically a few lines that the University had written saying we are free of convictions).

This year (2015) we were advised in April that if we were renewing we need to obtain a police clearance certificate from home. It needed to be the original certificate.

I had to pay for a CRB check from the Disclosure and Barring (DBS) service in England. This was all done online. My Mother then sent me the original certificate which the University accepted.

Perhaps the rules have changed this year for Shanxi province, but as always in China it seems to depend on who is following them.

Another friend in Linfen reported the same as me. He had to get one this year or he would not be granted a resident permit.

#25 Parent ROXY IN CHINA - 2015-06-29
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I know of someone who will be teaching legally for a public middle school in Yuncheng. She was not required by the school to provide a criminal background check. However, Silver Star insists on one. I am therefore assuming that that private school has latched the criminal background check onto the provincial requirements, which is their right, of course!

So, is the criminal background check mandatory for Shanxi's foreign teachers?

#26 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-27
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

Their advert actually says they pay 10,000rmb flight allowance plus 2,000rmb travel allowance.

It changes from ad to ad. 8k, 10k. This dynamic pricing is very common with Chinese online teaching ads. Figures change all the time.

They used to offer 6500, then 7000, now 7100. Two weeks from now it may change again.

Yuncheng English Village sent me on a dodgy visa run to Qingdao at my expense and then to Hong Kong where the paperwork was wrong so I had to hang out there at my own expense for over a week while they sent me the documents. I never to the day I left saw any of the promised reimbursements for the expenses. Needless to say I left at Spring Festival and found a job in Beijing. I received verbally abusive emails saying that I will be blacklisted and the like but nothing came of it. At least the new school were able to do things properly and even though I had to return to Hong Kong to cancel the mess that Yuncheng EV made of everything I have had no problems since.

This poor experience happens most of the time with new Yuncheng English Village teachers.

For those going on one, Yuncheng EV will tell you to not open the package. Bollocks. Matters not. Open it and see your faked, copied, or stolen credentials inside.

I received verbally abusive emails saying that I will be blacklisted and the like but nothing came of it.

There is no such blacklist in China for teachers - they were threatening you, as that is their business model.

A select few are cool with the visa run, get reimbursed, have fun with friends in Hong Kong, etc. Others, not so much. There is no way to tell how you will be treated. Chances are high you will pay out of pocket as you did.

Yuncheng English Village almost always bring people in on an invite letter set in Beijing, then get new teachers an 'F' (M now?) visa to start, then send them on a visa reset run to Hong Kong or Qingdao in Shandong.

The 'F' visa is not a business visa any longer it is a visit visa for study tours and such; the business visa is now the M visa. Strictly for business, which a teacher employee is not. This visa gambit is now expressly illegal, no idea why Yuncheng EV constantly do this as they are licensed to direct hire teachers by the .gov and one would think would have the ability to process Z visas locally.

Your story is one that I heard from just about every single new hire, and often they would travel in groups. The Ameson AYC bunch that landed in Shanghai did it as a group (likely so EV could get their hands on the Cengage MyELT textbooks and copy them). New hires often do it as a group to keep it simple and fun, lower costs, and help each other out.

The Qingdao visa run is to someone there that does them a favour. Since Yuncheng English Village place many advertisements through rememberesl.com which is based out of the Shandong Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference in Qingdao (easier to just refer to is at the National Congress or the Communist Party of China, Shandong office) it is likely that they are having someone do them a favour high up in the party and process visas illegally.

The fact is that the PROPER procedure is to get an invite letter and contract when back home. You take said invite letter, go to your nearest PRC Consulate, and get your Z visa there. You fly to China, go to your town, settle in, and go to work. If they have to always hire on a non-Z visa and then send people to Hong Kong or Qingdao, Shandong, to 'reset' the visa, they are doing something dodgy and illegal.

Which, again, is odd as EV are licensed by the .gov to hire and place foreign teachers.

Rememberesl.com are in the Qingdao Laoshan People's Government Centre, Shandong CPPCC Science and Technology Mansion, No. 228 Liaoning Road, Qingdao, China. 266012. http://www.rememberesl.com/3.htm

Everyone I know who went there, paid the trip out of pocket. Mostly long bus rides or airfare. Fast train not yet to that part of China from Shanxi. A long, uncomfortable (if cheap) bus ride.

#27 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-28
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I was told about this forum so feel I should reiterate don't go to Yuncheng EV.

Katz:
Please tell others who taught through Yuncheng English Village to post their experiences here.

#28 Parent katz - 2015-06-27
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

That school pays 7,100 rmb per month, provides a 8,000 rmb flight allowance in addition to a
2,000 rmb travelling allowance at the end of contract. Full salary will be paid for
July and August should you elect to renew your contract with us. Full salary is
also
paid during the Spring Festival vacation.

Their advert actually says they pay 10,000rmb flight allowance plus 2,000rmb travel allowance.

I think you are wrong! In some cases maybe they don't want to renew, and the FT might not
want to either. Get it right, and what about a TA? Do you get one? Or do you get each
subject teacher acting as one, not so good as they have different views of teaching
methods?

The calaculations are broadly correct. Yuncheng English village is clearly a scam which should be exposed. Yes, not every FT (or the school for that matter if they are not happy with the FT) might not want to renew but the fact they offer it speaks for itself and is certainly worth praise.

From what I know of that school from speaking with a former teacher they do provide a TA for their primary school position but not for their Junior or Senior school. Their regular English teacher takes on that roll. The reason being that they want to improve their English too. They are not their to influence your teaching just to translate. In fact from what I gather they are very hands off.

As for TA's they have their uses sometimes but cetainly the ones that are provided at Yuncheng EV are nit picking busybodies who will report on everything you do and even if you have no contact with them they will make up rubbish about you as they are 'expected' to report on the foreigners at their monthly meetings.

However, I think they do not deserve their hiring licence because they do not
treat their former FTs respectfully at the point when the contracts are up.

I have never taught at that school but do know some who have. I think its not just them, in China its often the case once you mention you are not renewing, its amazing how the relationship sours somewhat. You will not be earning them anymore money and they have to start looking for replacements. I haven't heard anything which suggests they don't pay you what you are owed. Certainly Yuncheng EV will try to nickel and dime you at every opportunity. At that school you might not be flavor of the month anymore but at least you don't get ripped off.

I did work for EV last year, they lied at every opportunity, brought us here under false pretences (firstly we were working in Shanghai, then Shenzhen then Yuncheng and then we were outposted to random outback places). I myself was outposted to Linyi so I do know about the direct hire school there and did regularly meet two of the foreigners that taught there, one left, the other I think is still around but might have moved onto pastures new by now as I lost contact with him.

They sent me on a dodgy visa run to Qingdao at my expense and then to Hong Kong where the paperwork was wrong so I had to hang out there at my own expense for over a week while they sent me the documents. I never to the day I left saw any of the promised reimbursements for the expenses. Needless to say I left at Spring Festival and found a job in Beijing. I received verbally abusive emails saying that I wil be blacklisted and the like but nothing came of it. At least the new school were able to do things properly and even though I had to return to Hong Kong to cancel the mess that Yuncheng EV made of everything I have had no problems since.

I seldom read forums or write reviews. My time is valuable. I was told about this forum so feel I should reiterate don't go to Yuncheng EV. They are con artists through and through. Avoid them unless you want to be ripped off and have endless hassles.

#29 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-26
Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

http://jobs.echinacities.com/jobchapter/1354420639

6000RMB Oral English teachers wanted in Yuncheng(Polish, south Africans,and new graduated or about to are welcome)

...at least that ad states a teacher will get the 8000 rmb flight/completion/year end bonus and be paid 6000 per month...several recruiters that work with Yuncheng English Village take the travel money, part of the bonus, and cut the pay to 5000 rmb per month. These advertisements can be found online with a simple search.

5000 rmb per month to teach in China is a joke in 2015. China is no longer a poor country, and anyone who sends their children to a training centre or school with a FT pays extra for the foreign teacher. Parents pick up children in their autos, causing huge traffic issues at 9:45pm when school lets out. 6 years ago streets in Yuncheng were flooded with e-Bikes and manual bicycles.

In 2015 the streets of Yuncheng are flooded with automobiles.

It's not 1995. They can afford to pay teachers a decent salary in 2015 in all of China, even Shanxi.

7000 rmb per month, 12 months a year, plus 8000 rmb bonus, plus travel money of 1000-3000 for summer/spring festival is what teachers in Yuncheng should negotiate. Of course a decent furnished apartment with modern, clean furnishings and all utilities paid.

That is, by the way, the lowest salary you will see in all of China. Any larger city will offer 2 or 3 times that.

5000 rmb is what teachers were paid by Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi, in 2004-2008.

6000 rmb is what teachers were paid by Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi, in 2009-2010.

Both salaries are unacceptable.

#30 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-26
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

If you wanna be taken seriously, be accurate!

The direct hire job referred to will come with a TA. If you direct hire at another local middle school, TA as well.

If you are foolish enough to go through Yuncheng English Village, you get a TA that spies on you.

If you go direct hire to the University, no TA - but the English level of the students is high enough that you do not need a TA.,

Ad salaries and bonus vary depending - this will be due to recruiters taking part of the bonus, monthly salary, and such.

Some state 5000 bonus, some 6000, some 8000. These will change from week to week or month to month.

#31 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-26
Re: Visa

Middle schools in China are not allowed to hire overseas (English) teachers.

This statement is incorrect.

There are middle schools in Yuncheng that are Gov approved to direct hire foreign teachers.

#32 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-26
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

They were advertising 7.000 for air fare allowance,and 2,000 travel money for 2 semesters.
I doubt many of their staff were on a wage of 5,000/month! Even the IELTS outfit offered
6,000 for air fare!

Some ads for Yuncheng offer far less.

One example:

Job code: SXYCT-01,
- Location:Yuncheng, Shanxi Province
- Start date: ASAP
- School type: Public school
- Age level: 3-18 years old
- Workload: 20 classes /week
- Salary:RMB 5000-6500
- Airfare: 5000 RMB
- Housing: Free apartment (not shared)
- Holidays: Public holidays + winter and summer vacation
- Two days off at weekend
- Working visa and insurance provided
- Native speakers required

Note: 5000 rmb ;pw end salary, 5000 airfare/bonus, no mention of travel money.

Note: No mention that Public holidays are PAID. They won't be.

In this case, the recruiter took the difference, pocked the travel money, lower salary each month, and the 1000 to 3000 in missing airfare.

#33 Parent Play Straight - 2015-06-25
Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China
#34 Parent Public School Fan - 2015-06-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

I feel sorry for the Chinese students and their Chinese subject teachers. Discipline-wise it's the class teacher, whom we would refer to as the guidance teacher, who has a major influence on the class. At state-run schools, teachers generally say teaching is a thankless job, but they regard it as a job for life as it's very hard to be fired.

At private high schools, staff have fewer perks, lower salaries, more accountability for their job performances, and students of lower academic quality.

#35 Parent Play Straight - 2015-06-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

They are a direct hire. The local schools and Universities that direct hire will say so,
clearly.
They list their names in the ad, and clearly state 'No agent, No recruiter'.
They understand the issues and take care to let teachers know that they will do things
correctly.

That school pays 7,100 rmb per month, provides a 8,000 rmb flight allowance in addition to a
2,000 rmb travelling allowance at the end of contract. Full salary will be paid for
July and August should you elect to renew your contract with us. Full salary is also
paid during the Spring Festival vacation.

95,200 rmb per year.

-----------------------------------
I think you are wrong! In some cases maybe they don't want to renew, and the FT might not want to either. Get it right, and what about a TA? Do you get one? Or do you get each subject teacher acting as one, not so good as they have different views of teaching methods?

Compare that to some Yuncheng English Village ads.

8 months X 5000 + 5000 airfare (if you get it) + 1000 travel money.

No July, August or Spring Festival pay at all.

46,000 rmb per year. 48% of the above offer.

Yuncheng English Village offers
LESS THAN HALF of a direct hire.

Local culture issues remain the same, but the school treats teachers far better than Yuncheng
English Village, Shanxi.

They were advertising 7.000 for air fare allowance,and 2,000 travel money for 2 semesters. I doubt many of their staff were on a wage of 5,000/month! Even the IELTS outfit offered 6,000 for air fare! And they provide you with a TA! If you wanna be taken seriously, be accurate! However, I think they do not deserve their hiring licence because they do not treat their former FTs respectfully at the point when the contracts are up.

#36 Parent ESL Teacher - 2015-06-25
Re: Visa

Middle schools in China are not allowed to hire overseas (English) teachers. There is a complex system in place centered on many different (unhelpful) government departments to obtain a legal visa for overseas teachers. If a middle schools argues it can obtain a visa for an overseas teacher, then careful checks should be carried out by that overseas teacher to ensure the legality of that promise. Passport do not have to be held by a school for long periods to obtain a legal visa.

#37 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-25
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

NO.

They are a direct hire. The local schools and Universities that direct hire will say so, clearly.
They list their names in the ad, and clearly state 'No agent, No recruiter'.
They understand the issues and take care to let teachers know that they will do things correctly.

That school pays 7,100 rmb per month, provides a 8,000 rmb flight allowance in addition to a 2,000 rmb travelling allowance at the end of contract. Full salary will be paid for July and August should you elect to renew your contract with us. Full salary is also paid during the Spring Festival vacation.

95,200 rmb per year.

-----------------------------------

Compare that to some Yuncheng English Village ads.

8 months X 5000 + 5000 airfare (if you get it) + 1000 travel money.

No July, August or Spring Festival pay at all.

46,000 rmb per year. 48% of the above offer.

Yuncheng English Village offers
LESS THAN HALF of a direct hire.

Local culture issues remain the same, but the school treats teachers far better than Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi.

#38 Parent Just in case - 2015-06-24
Re: Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China
#39 Parent The Truth - 2015-06-24
Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China

To find other posts first click this link:
http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/review/index.pl?read=65863;expand=1#m_65863

...to expand all posts into a list and then search for Yuncheng or Yuncheng English Village.
Scroll past the non-topical posts to find the ones about Yuncheng EV, Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi.
=====================================================================

The short version is that any job that places you into Yuncheng, Shanxi will most likely be through Yuncheng English
Village, a very unreliable employer.

Any direct hire uni or school will state so in the advert. If there is NOT a mention of a uni or school, chances are it
is a recruiter advert for Yuncheng EV, Yuncheng English Village.

Avoid employment with them at all costs. The direct hires treat teachers better. Yuncheng EV treats teachers poorly.

Ads are placed through:
EZ Recruitment
CCESL
rememberesl.com
[email protected]

Known issues include:
Police harassment, low pay, short pay, no bonus, dodgy apartments, passport seizure for 5+ months, your assistant will
spy on you constantly, and many other issues.

Biggest ones are passport seizure and that Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi, states that you do not need a degree to
teach (they will generate a fake degree for you without your knowledge). Not true, and will place any teacher that does
so in legal jeopardy.

Search this thread for posts dated:

the truth - 2015-04-25
The Truth - 2015-06-08
The Truth - 2015-06-10
The Truth - 2015-06-12
The Truth - 2015-06-13

The post from 4-25 has many of the issues recent teachers (2015 Academic Year) have, and have had, with Yuncheng English
Village.

Many other posts go into more detail.

=====================================================================

Here are some of the advertisements used by Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi.
They are not using their name, for obvious reasons.

Ads are placed through:
EZ Recruitment
CCESL
rememberesl.com

One email used is:
[email protected]

Also they had one round of Ameson grad gap year hires that lasted approximately 12 weeks each. That group did not
tolerate the Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi, nonsense. At all. They all left within 4 months, none made it past Jan
1st after being hired in August and trained in Shanghai and then placed in rural Yuncheng, Shanxi.

CCESL has 'testimonials' from several teachers who are the exact same teachers that were mistreated in the 2015-04-25
post in this thread. CCESL either do not know about the mistreatment, or are likely just yet ANOTHER recruiting layer
between the school and teacher. Yuncheng English Village, Shanxi seeking plausible deniability.

Recent Ads:
----------------
CCESL
high school Yuncheng,Shanxi ASAP 6000 - 6000 2015-5-21
http://www.ccesl.net/ViewHR.aspx?id=40
----------------
EZ Recruitment
Job code: SXYCT-01
ESL TEACHER POSITION IN YUNCHENG, CHINA
http://esl.com/jobs/448022/esl-teacher-position-in-yuncheng-china

Public position with less workload !
http://www.eslemployment.com/public-position-with-less-workload-yuncheng-china-45230039.htm

Teaching jobs ALL OVER CHINA !
- Location:Yuncheng, Shanxi Province
----------------
Rememberesl
http://www.rememberesl.com/job/
Public school position in Yuncheng city, Shanxi province, China
High school positions in Yuncheng city, Shanxi province, China
Middle school positions in Yuncheng city, Shanxi province, China
ESL teachers needed in Yuncheng city, Shanxi province, China
----------------

Return to Index › Re Rubbish Yuncheng Middle School, China






Go to another board -