SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center
#1 Parent Maria - 2017-12-15
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

Hello have you heard of Abie exploiting workers in Anhui Bengbu china? The guy seems to be a Total jerk and pervert!

#2 Parent adam hernandez - 2017-11-18
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

how are the hours? i got promised in contract 30 hours a week minimum

#3 Parent adam hernandez - 2017-11-18
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

what location did you work at?

i been offer a job at the liang location , what made it so aweful?

#4 Parent Zhenia - 2017-04-18
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

I was offered a position there either. Do you have any info?

#5 Parent FTinPRC - 2017-02-20
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

They admitted to having signed a
contract on my behalf for new FEC and then refused to cancel it.

ABIE itself would have had to falsify the FEC documents; the school obtains the FEC, not the recruiter. FEC processing does not require the FTs presence; the residency permit does.

If the school is willing to falsify documents, you can be sure that they will lie about it, saying it was your decision.

Recruiters and schools that illegally hire FTs who are not from NES countries will routinely threaten and intimidate those teachers.

Thank you for sharing your terrible experience about this horrific language mill.

#6 Parent Lara Zlokovich - 2017-02-20
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

I see this is an old post, but I just want to add that When I first got offered a job at ABIE in Liaoyang - They may be trading under a new name now (Cheer-Up Education) I read some negative stuff here and the recruiter told me not to believe everything I had read. So I came and had to return home to redo visa . That was the first thing. Teachers left frequently. I got to witness two foreigners treated in a shocking way when dismissed. I decided to work hard and hoped when I left they would treat me differently. I spent two years there with a heavy work load as at one stage was the only foreign teacher. I was discriminated against because of my nationality. Told I couldn't earn more. Refused to do a third contract on first contract conditions as I did the second year. When I said I would not stay for a third year. I was promised all my documents and release letter. Only to have the day arrive and receive nothing. They admitted to having signed a contract on my behalf for new FEC and then refused to cancel it. It took 6 months for that FEC to be cancelled. Made it difficult finding a new job. HONESTY AND DEDICATION HAS NO PLACE THERE. IF YOU DECIDE TO LEAVE YOU ARE EITHER FIRED AND GET NOTHING OR YOU LEAVE LIKE I DID AND STILL GET NOTHING. I had to extend my visa to get my pay. I would not leave with out it

#7 Parent Don't f**k with me - 2017-02-08
Re ABIE American Baby International English

I just saw this embarrassing job offer on a website (same text they use when replying to emails "I came across your resume..."). Obviously, they don't give a shit about how they submit their job offers. Should we infer that they will care more about the hiring process, and once we are hired (god forbid), about how we are treated?


-- Zh
By:ABIE Zhangjiagang <[email protected]>
Date: Wednesday, 8 February 2017, 1:45 am

Hi there,
My name is Elaine I am the Head Teacher and Foreign Teacher Supervisor at ABIE (American Baby International English) located in Zhangjiagang in the Jiangsu Province of China. I came across your resume on an ESL job board and would love to learn a little more about you. Below you’ll find some additional information about our available position,

#8 Parent Arthur - 2017-02-04
Re: thank you sir, may I have another

Also, don't use an email where the name is the same as your id for online Asian women dating sites. dDog learned that the hard way.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha haaaargh.....

#9 Parent Trump diplomacy - 2017-02-04
thank you sir, may I have another

ABIE is a
great place to work if you are willing to do exactly that; WORK

Why? You did not give us one reason. Salary, housing, benefits, hours, food, class size, proximity to beautiful Shenyang and North Korea.... you choose.

You dumped them in mid academic year and you are shilling so that they process your release letter and release your travel money.

Also, don't use an email where the name is the same as your id for online Asian women dating sites. dDog learned that the hard way.

#10 Parent Ahmed Bayoumy - 2017-02-04
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

I won't really debate and prove you wrong based on your false assumptions. I'm currently a school director, holding several awards from the Chinese government! All I can say is that you might have been lucky with one of the few good branches. best of luck! and yes, for all new comers: please do your homework :)

#11 Parent Robert - 2017-02-04
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

Seems you had a bad experience, but it is most likely due to your attitude or not understanding Chinese culture. First off from my research, it is a franchised based company so it is nothing like a big company such as say Disney English. So basically you are saying that you had a bad burger at McDonalds and that all of them are bad because you had a bad experience. Secondly I would like to note all the changes the Chinese government has made to their education in the more recent years. I'm guessing you're a non native speaker thus having to settle for a training school position in the first place. If you actually take time to understand different companies and polices they have and what it takes to operate within China, I feel you would have a vastly different outlook on the situation and company.

My experience with the company has been vastly different and nothing but positive. You can only get out as much as you put in. Seems my attitude and approach to my employment was different than yours and allowed me to have a much different an pleasant experience. I am writing this now as I am ending my 2 year contract with my school. Not due to any professional reasons but rather life changes that have forced me to leave China. I hope people who do the research and take the time to look into a company before they sign, will value they company that will value good employees. My 10 years in China taught me many things and many different schools have different approaches to education. People should decide what they really want from an experience while working abroad. ABIE is a great place to work if you are willing to do exactly that; WORK. If you are looking to spend less than a year here or just pass through, then look elsewhere, the company values stability and rewards teachers big time for remaining loyal and honoring their agreement.

#12 Parent Kabayo - 2016-11-15
Re ABIE American Baby International English

My experience with ABIE (American baby International English)

Seriously with a name like ABIE (American baby International English) what did you expect?

They hired your friend in another branch in Hefei? I assume your no longer friends.Ha ha your one funny tefler :D

Translation; you wasted a year of your life. :(

#13 Parent Ahmed Bayoumy - 2016-11-14
Re ABIE American Baby International English

I agree,

Below is an account for my experience with ABIE (American baby International English).

I had to work for ABIE (American baby International English) for a year ! I couldn't have left earlier because I was tied to the visa they gave me. During that time I became popular in our district as the best English teacher there, most of the students have left the training center after I left.

They let me work overtime -sometimes double my workload or even on weekends- for peanuts against our contract.

My salary was deducted on two different occasions just for having my annual holiday that was agreed in the contract.

They accommodated me in a studio for 1300 CNY a month whilst our initial agreement before I arrived to the city was an apartment for 2500 CNY. They have refused to reimburse me if I was to rent my own place -against our contract-

I didn't receive my last month salary until now. I had to stop teaching just to get half of the flight reimbursement that I was promised in the contract. They have refused to give me my release letter -one of the documents you must have to transfer your employment in China- so that I can transfer my employment to a new school even though I finished the contract with them -Just because they wanted to keep me or force me stay-.

ABIE (American baby International English) didn't offer me any training at all.They hired me illegally by getting me a work visa from another school, which I discovered later whilst applying for my work visa abroad. ABIE obviously didn't even have a school licence and of course no right to hire a foreigner at that time. They probably still do the same or sometimes offer teachers a visa from Beijing/Shanghai or HK or even a business visa from another country. Most of the staff they hired were incompetent and even the people who were supposed to teach English or assist in the classes couldn't speak English or just had very poor communication skills.

They hired a friend of mine in another branch in Hefei and her last two months salaries weren't paid to her, they ate their words and failed to give her a work visa and they even let her pay for a flight to HK and a visa from there to let here stay and work with them.

I have another friend who left them right after they finished the first year contract because of all the ridiculous salary deductions and breaches to the contract they always did.

This Franchise is owned by a lady who can't speak any English and claims to have an MBA from the US. Their website also says that the parent company is in NY (doesn't exist).

They sell the courses to the parents claiming that all teachers are native speakers or Americans to be more specific. I was forced to lie to the parents and hid my real nationality.

ABIE (American baby International English) doesn't have any curriculum/books to teach students. Last time I checked they bought a subscription to a phonics website that anyone could get just for 35$.

#14 Parent TIANYOU - 2015-09-27
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

Hi there, could you tell us in more detailed what happened? I was offered a position in XIAMEN. ;)

#15 Parent Regional manager - 2015-06-28
Re ABIE American Baby International English

ABIE , American Baby International English.

I managed the schools before. And I would agree that even tho we try to manage schools owned by franchisee it's actually not at all practical. Most school run in their own way as soon as the first 6 months are over. That is the reason for some closed down businesses and some blacklisted. Taizhou luqiao school is a sham. It started off as an ABIE school now it has slightly changed their name tho a crackdown is in place and local authorities have been contacted. Wenzhou is a new school and teachers only work hours are the scheduled teaching hours. Which helps keep teachers happy but again they are suffering to follow correct curriculum. Liaoyang has had many complaints and overall performance of ABIE has been very disappointing indeed. Personal opinion of mine would be to avoid any offers as HQ would not interfere on your behalf with dodgy management or owners. You should always visit the school first and observe a random class plus show up without an appointment to get an idea of what's going on.

#16 Parent Mathew Evans - 2014-04-13
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

Hi, I just got a job offer from them, why was your experience so bad? where were you working? how come you stayed for two years?

p.s. sent you an email

Thanks,

Mat

#17 Parent Ahmed Bayoumy - 2014-03-15
Re: ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

I have worked for 2 ABIE in China and had friends who worked in others, they are absolutely horrible. don't accept ay job offers. they will breach all the agreements and the HQ in Shanghai doesn't give a shit. I will post a full review later, i left them less than a month ago. feel free to contact me

Tim - 2014-03-08
ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center

I was just wondering if anyone had any experience with this school or with ABIE at all. I find little information online about them and have read no reviews about past teacher's experiences.
Any info would be appreciated.

thanks
tim

Return to Index › ABIE American Baby International English, Liaoyang Center






Go to another board -