SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China
#1 Parent Namarie - 2017-12-04
Re PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Hi guys,
Im curious, why have all reviews stopped here in 2013 regarding pingdingshan university?
I am having an interview to work for them as an English subject teacher, I wasn't very keen
after reading everything on here, but they have insisted very badly to get me on board.
So I will go ahead with the interview and see, Has anybody got and more up to date info,
reviews? I am a bit lost now as want to be prepared as much as possible.
Thanks
Namarie

#2 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-17
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Toto please post the email and cell phone number of this con artist. I think this Larry posted on here a while back. He was in Taizhou at the time if my memory serves me correctly. He certainly fits the bill of the sociopathic, lying sleazeball expat who pretends to manage useless companies. Several individuals like that I have come across in my treks around China.

#3 Parent Toto - 2013-02-17
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Warning! warning!

I want to talk about an American ESL teacher in China named Larry [edited].

Larry [edited] is a 60 year old guy from Georgia, USA, who' s doing a dirty job in China. He uses to work for more training centers who are looking for foreign teachers. He calls you, befriends you and makes lots of promises he fulfills to deliver. He will invite you all the way from Europe or America to his town and then after you discover that everything he had told you is not true, and the salary is not so high as he promised you, the school actually does not support you with the visa process etc, Larry plays stupid and tells you actually he did not know the truth. He has been in China for 10 years, and claims to be the happiest person on earth, praising the school and the employer. Larry will try to get your confidence by inviting you to go fishing for the famous Black Widow, his favorite fish. So everything seems really rosy until you get to know the real Larry [edited] and his lies.

In reality [edited]

He is [edited]

Despite [edited]. Yes, this is the truth and if you ever receive any phone call or an email from the friendly Larry [edited] just refuse!

Larry is trouble

#4 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-17
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Again, this only goes to prove my case for IP's being logged and forum users being made to register ala eslcafe style. The posters who most vehemently oppose this idea, are the ones themselves who go out of their way to troll these very boards, and so of course they oppose being made to register with their email and having their IP logged. These are also the same individuals who deem the UK a country with no free speech, because the police crack down on people who use the internet to make racist, sexist or threatening statements or use it for child porn, but yet won't look beyond their own front door of the flat in the country they live in, which does not allow access to facebook, twitter and youtube at all. And what would happen if you made a racist or threatening post on a forum or chinese social networking site IN China? I dare say it would have much more serious repercussions than having your front door kicked in at the middle of the night and being dragged off to the police station for questioning.....but those posters, presumably married to Chinese wives, will always defend their adopted homeland over their native one. Pathetic really!

Good luck
SMGS

#5 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-17
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I remember when I first starting posting you thought I was Chinese. There have been a lot of other assumptions by you since then including thinking I'm the mancunian poster, a member of the wumao brigade, etc. Now it seems that you think I'm you and possibly vice versa. What exactly is 'gray' about your assertion that the Chinese are morally inferior to other nations? Seems pretty jet black to me!

Here's one of those links I promised in an earlier post just to remind of you where we both stand on the subject.

http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/forum/index.pl?read=80888

Of course if you're ready to make a retraction and agree with me that the morals of anyone and any nation inc. the chinese are 'gray' as opposed to all good or all bad and that that being the case we can't really go around ranking some nations as morally better or worse then please be sure to include it in your reply to this post. I mean we all say things in the heat of the moment that upon reflection we might regret. I understand ...........

#6 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-16
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Dragonized, I don't doubt your bad experiences in china and I've been very careful to state on multiple occasions that I take what you write at face value. I can't question your interuptation of your own experiences that would be illogical. What I can question is whether your experiences horrific as they might be represent without question and without exception everyone who has or ever will work in china. Now I know for sure that your experiences (just like mine) don't mirror everyone's therefore they can only go so far in making 'a logical' argument towards others.

I don't think my experiences would encompass that of everyone's, and I wouldn't believe that for a minute. There are billions of people out there after all. But I have no doubts that most teachers who have worked in china have gone through similar situations, and if they still had their souls they would be honest like me, just common sense. What I do is try and show people who have been through these experiences support and also maybe get some folks who are still up on the fence about coming to china to work to make the best decision for themselves. As for people who still want to keep their heads in the sand and show their opinions about these things I will also respond accordingly, I have always been consistent about that.

No, never wrote anything of the sort. That's the great thing about a written discussion forum it's all there in black and white. Much the same as what you've written about the Chinese being inferior in several ways is clear for all to see. If you're having any trouble remembering what you wrote (as you see to be struggling with remembering what I wrote) I'd be happy to provide the links.

I have no trouble remembering what I said about china when I was having these discussions with you, and I would like to tell you that since posting on here years back the experiences have not come right away but have rather been an accumulation of things that gradually branched out to broader topics and helped me grow and mature as a person. Again, you are judging me based on limited posts that only go back a finite time, which is the time from when you first started posting on here. You still have not shown to possess any credible knowledge pertaining culture, history, and modern social issues to even have the discussion. Your own failure at being able to compare and contrast things makes your conclusions limited. The things I have said about China in the past came not from merely seeing things in black and white (which is how you like to see things) but rather drawing them out from very very gray and muddled situations and not being afraid to have it tested and re-tested again.

You shy from such things, and I would not judge you for that if you did not accuse me of seeing things inaccurately in your mind. I do not like to judge people, but for you there is no question how I feel.

#7 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-16
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Dragonized, I don't doubt your bad experiences in china and I've been very careful to state on multiple occasions that I take what you write at face value. I can't question your interuptation of your own experiences that would be illogical. What I can question is whether your experiences horrific as they might be represent without question and without exception everyone who has or ever will work in china. Now I know for sure that your experiences (just like mine) don't mirror everyone's therefore they can only go so far in making 'a logical' argument towards others.

You have spoken some outrageous things such as stating that negative posts shouldn't be believed, you don't believe in such a thing as injustice done to expats, and you decide you already know us well enough without actually knowing us to say how much better you already know about everything!

No, never wrote anything of the sort. That's the great thing about a written discussion forum it's all there in black and white. Much the same as what you've written about the Chinese being inferior in several ways is clear for all to see. If you're having any trouble remembering what you wrote (as you see to be struggling with remembering what I wrote) I'd be happy to provide the links.

#8 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-16
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

unless you mean that the majority of FT's are sociopaths who lack empathy?

I think this link to what Mancunian has posted in the past would be a good indicator of his real self:

http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/review/index.pl?read=49425

Being that he has stated he will be out for a couple of months and that he thought he was being too much of a "nice guy", we can expect more of this nonsense once he comes back.

#9 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-16
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

My mouth is clean, and I intend to communicate with decent, civil people in this manner. It is only when I speak to unscrupulous folks [edited].

You brought the aggression onto yourself. Your pathetic attempt to take a moral high ground by labeling what I have said about china as "racist", "inaccurate", "tripe", etc. can only be countered by you yourself with the explanation of how great china supposedly is and how china is a great place to work in. In other words instead of pointing out the supposed flaws in my logic which would require a more perceptive method of going about things such as making me explain just what my personal experiences were, the people whom I worked and interacted with, and even a bit about my own background to an extent you counter the generalizing you accuse me of doing with generalizations of your own. This can only mean behind that facade of confidence you put up is actually an individual with little to no knowledge of what he is talking about. It's your ignorance that has carried you to this point, and you live and die by it now.

Your modus operandi since coming on here basically means not giving a damn or caring about others who may have a different outlook on things than you. I have compromised in my arguments with you in the past and I have given you openings to discuss things which you have not taken and instead gave me the run around. This is a maturity issue on your own part. You have spoken some outrageous things such as stating that negative posts shouldn't be believed, you don't believe in such a thing as injustice done to expats, and you decide you already know us well enough without actually knowing us to say how much better you already know about everything! Ignorance and [edited] are vices which will drive people away from you if you are excessive on even one, but to possess both on your part is no small "talent" that can only deservedly get you flack beyond your imagination.

#10 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-16
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I don't care what you do, it's not any concern of me. Only concerns me when you post nonsense and promote your own self serving agenda.

ASTF rather served your own needs pretty well. You played the pretend nice guy while he plays the pit bull. But for the both of you you're not going to crack any skulls or blaze any new trails, you're just chasing your own tails and spinning the proverbial groveling wheel of so many pretend "teachers" who have come and gone.

I do mean to say this next thing [edited]. That is you have become rather chinese in your mentality with bullshitting around and not talking about the point on things you are uncomfortable with, instead questioning the judgement and therefore intelligence level of the people who even bring it up in the first place. Your words lead nowhere except to fantasy land [edited].

Look in the mirror, do you think if everybody followed you and lived your life the world would be better? The more you write, the more I see someone who isn't too keen on taking action for anything except running out and [edited]. Someone who shares too similar a personality with you might not even be liked by you. What with the ability to be both annoyingly awful and awfully annoying the think tanks of the world specializing in the arts, literature, and science are all buy lining up to present a lifetime achievement award to you. Am I right or am I wrong? But I should thank both you and ASTF for posting on here the past few months because you have both proved me right, again about what I said with China attracting some of the worst expats.

#11 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-15
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I rather think that ASTF represents the well-rounded majority of FT's in China, with respect, Dragonised.

I don't know about dragonised, but I don't think he does, unless you mean that the majority of FT's are sociopaths who lack empathy?

And your dear boy marker, is patronising, only saying.

#12 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-14
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Perhaps a 'reasonable' guy such as yourself could try cutting out the foul and abusive language which is edited from your the majority of your posts (often multiple times)

#13 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-14
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

This forum is a DEMOCRACY, get that straight in your mind, then we can discuss like reasonable human beings.

He certainly didn't have you in mind as you do not fit the profile of a "reasonable" human being. [edited]

#14 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-14
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Not going to reply to you any longer. You are obviously a [edited] 50 something who resents anyone else who wants something different. Good luck in the UK.

#15 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-14
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Didn't agree with you on anything, IIRC.

He's desperate for attention [edited]

Benefits are every person who is born in the UK's right. When MP's have a 160 pounds a week grocery allowance, you can bet I don't feel guilty about claiming everything available to me.

Many people have not been able to find work for a very long time in the west, that doesn't exclude them from being bad people. It is a fact that millions of decent, law abiding, good people are either unemployed or underemployed. The government in both the UK and the USA have sold out and let businesses move their jobs overseas, and where does that leave the ordinary people? Debating whether to claim something that is lawfully yours to take in your own country or going overseas where the locals will treat you like migrant workers getting handouts from their "great" totalitarian government isn't exactly worth anyone's time, it should be a no brainer to stay home. Unless you like getting exploited and feel the experience of being a 3rd world laborer of course, then you're a masochist and mentally unstable anyway.

If I was from eastern europe, I would be entitled to even more. Don't blame me, blame the system.
#16 Parent Mancunian S - 2013-02-14
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

"Some" in this case would only describe you yourself. As for not scrunging off the state good for you if you can do it.

I rather think that ASTF represents the well-rounded majority of FT's in China, with respect, Dragonised.

Listen, dear boy, I must now start my travels, so I doubt you will hear from me for a couple of month, but I'll be back, you can depend on it, a new invigorated Mancunian- I believe I have over the past couple of months been coming across a bit too much as Mr Nice Guy; I will correct that character flaw-Put myself about a bit-Put about a bit of stick- Crack a few skulls-hahaha. Good luck for now. Mancunian.

#17 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-13
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

No, no. I mean he fully agrees with the sentiment about opinions.

Here

http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/review/index.pl?read=49924

Good old San migs, eh!

#18 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-13
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I know San migs agrees with me on this sentiment. Thanks San migs

Of course, this must be the San Migs in some parallel universe or the San Migs you conjured up in your own imagination I presume. He stated he likes being in the UK but the job market isn't so good. This isn't completely in line with your opinion anyway from what you've written. Never have seen you take the lead on any meaningful discussions, always leeching off of others and stealing what others have said and twisting them around in the manner that you see fit. Guess in real life that is how you operate, just being your anti-social self.

#19 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-13
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Didn't agree with you on anything, IIRC. Benefits are every person who is born in the UK's right. When MP's have a 160 pounds a week grocery allowance, you can bet I don't feel guilty about claiming everything available to me. If I was from eastern europe, I would be entitled to even more. Don't blame me, blame the system.

#20 Parent Mancunian S - 2013-02-13
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I reckon I'll spend another 18 months here before heading back to the UK to work not scrounge off the state.

You will need to as you won't be eligible for any benefits anyway for 3 months, with due respect.

That just isn't true, he could apply for income support, as soon as he registers at the jobcentre. If he's the type of non-grumbling more action bloke I think he is, he will be combing the streets from dawn until dusk to find a flat; he will then be eligible for housing benefit. If he's the type of bloke I think he is, and doesn't sit at his computer moaning all day, he will not need recourse to public funds for very long, because he would have galvanised himself, morning noon and night to find a job. Even in today's UK there are jobs to be had, if you get on your bike.

Don't know why you need to be so defensive in response to dragonised, I didn't see him type a personal attack against you.

My word, was that a pig I just spotted soaring above that castle floating in the sky?

#21 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I very much doubt that i am the only one but what does it matter anyway? Is one man's opinion worth less than another's? I know San migs agrees with me on this sentiment. Thanks San migs

#22 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Some of us are happy in china. I reckon I'll spend another 18 months here before heading back to the UK to work not scrounge off the state.

"Some" in this case would only describe you yourself. As for not scrunging off the state good for you if you can do it.

#23 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

No we don't but I don't think hymn sheet is appropriate to mention in this case. I doubt most people in China even know what one is!!!!

#24 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I reckon I'll spend another 18 months here before heading back to the UK to work not scrounge off the state.

You will need to as you won't be eligible for any benefits anyway for 3 months, with due respect.

Don't know why you need to be so defensive in response to dragonised, I didn't see him type a personal attack against you. Good luck with the UK though, while I do like it, employment wise at the moment, it is not so good, hence the brain drain. I know more than a few people who have emigrated to Australia and Canada.

Good luck,
SMGS

#25 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Normally the sell out types are those who have nothing in and nothing to offer their respective homelands. They will defend all the injustices of their adopted homeland, while relentlessly attacking and complaining about their native land. We see a few of those types of older posters, posting on these very boards!

#26 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-12
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Whether you like to hear this or not, while there are plenty of folks who would like to work in China there are also many more who think they can have a good time working there but will not get the good experience they desire. For me, it would take a lot of self sabotaging such as breaking down my support network of friends, not going back to school, and adopting a hopeless addiction which would curtail me from pursuing a veritable career in the West. China can only handle a certain type of expat, and whether this type of expat is considered socially desirable back where he/she came from is up to the opinions of the general masses, not to us. I have confidence though that I would find most people's opinions of how they feel about this type agreeable to my own.

#27 Parent foxy - 2013-02-11
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Some of us are happy in china.

A rather good while at the same time being an absolutely necessary reminder to those who would have all of us avoid living and/or working in the PRC. Of course, we don't all sing from the same hymn sheet on various issues, especially those pertaining to mainland China. You have posted well, ASTF. Keep up the good work!

#28 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-11
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Posters on here can grumble about uk police kicking in someones door for posting a racist or threatening post on twitter, but don't seem to look beyond their own front door in the land where they currently live. " Twitter" or "Facebook" certainly cannot even be accessed to make any kind of post, and even VPNS are being restricted to boot.

It is laughable and downright insulting to other people's intelligence to see how some of the posters defending china would use their own "trials and tribulations" in the west as the excuse to, well excuse the crappy behavior of their mighty chinese masters and even attack other westerners who dare speak the truth of what china really is about. I think they can be correctly labelled as the biggest living jokes around.

#29 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-11
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

It's nice to be nice.

Lots of assumptions in that post about me and my situation most of which are incorrect but let's ignore that.

Some of us are happy in china. I reckon I'll spend another 18 months here before heading back to the UK to work not scrounge off the state.

#30 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-11
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

True, I wonder what chance the "occupy" movement would have on the mainland as a form of activism. Not much. Posters on here can grumble about uk police kicking in someones door for posting a racist or threatening post on twitter, but don't seem to look beyond their own front door in the land where they currently live. " Twitter" or "Facebook" certainly cannot even be accessed to make any kind of post, and even VPNS are being restricted to boot.

#31 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-10
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

You can go back and live there like you would anywhere else, any disillusioned folks who see that there are still patriotic people with strong western values hanging around will be inspired. You can choose to see the western societies for all their problems, but in them there is also still the possible chance of recovery due to the system of free speech and grassroot political involvement that you will not see in any of the societies you and I have worked in as ESL teachers.

If we are entitled to feel that we should have a right to work as ESL teachers, then we can also ask ourselves if we are also entitled to not give a crap about the countries that afforded us English not as a second language, but as a first. Of course with the free choice mindset that we are raised to believe in we can just choose to care less, but does that really bode well for the future of our descendants? Just wondering.

#32 Parent Mancunian S - 2013-02-08
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

You are being exploited from working in China, especially if it's at any place with "private" attached to the name. There is no shame in going back home and getting free handouts. You will be back in your element with people who have things in common with you. I have heard of facts about women from Middle Eastern countries bringing their kids to Britain and immediately getting a free apartment as well as aid that exceeds 1,000 pounds per month. If you contributed to the British economy all those years, then you have every right to go back and take what belongs to you.

I think you have the answer to the question yourself, Dragonized. Those of us Brits who can trace out ancestry back a thousand years, as Anglo-saxons and Celts are simply being outbred-I suppose it's a natural way of things- why, even the old love hate relationships(which served us very well indeed thank you) between, Scots, Irish,Welsh and English are becoming irrelevent- many of us simply no longer feel at home. It would be a sad and painful thing indeed for many of us, to stay and watch its further decline. Returning home to your own country can be a bit like returning to your own house to find it redecorated in all the the ways that are just simply not to your taste and impossible to live with. China can be a shitty place, but it's not your place, so you can live with it. Let the new key-holders have the hand-outs... I can't say I think they are welcome to it...but, nobody else's fault but our own- you certainly can't blame the new incumbents.

#33 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-07
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

ASTF, I will be nice to you in this post. I feel that you may think I have nothing but contempt for anyone who works in China, but it is quite the contrary. I have stated in the past that retired teachers who receive benefits who would like to bring real education to China can give it a try. Now I am not so sure China deserves any good teachers at all due to the crappy management of business as well as the corruption. If I met you in real life and thought of you as a good person I would not think you should stay in China forever, you would be too good for that.

If you really are in your fifties, you are entitled to government benefits and pensions in whatever country you came from. In my home country that would be the USA I see illegal immigrants and legal ones who have never contributed a penny to the economy reap the benefits of honest, hard working folks who pay their taxes and just want good pensions for retirement. I assume even if you have been in China for a while you probably haven't exceeded 10 years there. Since you have been paying taxes for 20+ years in your home country of Britain why not try and apply for government aid as you would deserve every penny given to you? In fact, I will go out on a limb and even say you would be happier. It's not like China made you feel so full of life that you don't need to vent your frustrations at people whom you don't know personally for presumed marginalization of your personal experiences on anonymous forums.

I have heard of numerous cases where people who went to the USA on a tourist visa stayed there permanently illegally, then promptly participated in pro-democratic demonstrations outside the Chinese embassy so they could go on record to immigration and say they are applying for political amnesty, of which they collect generous pensions and receive decent medical benefits as well. These folks have no problem getting food stamps and working illegal side jobs in Chinatown or at the East Asian supermarkets scattererd around the tri-state area surrounding New York City.

You are being exploited from working in China, especially if it's at any place with "private" attached to the name. There is no shame in going back home and getting free handouts. You will be back in your element with people who have things in common with you. I have heard of facts about women from Middle Eastern countries bringing their kids to Britain and immediately getting a free apartment as well as aid that exceeds 1,000 pounds per month. If you contributed to the British economy all those years, then you have every right to go back and take what belongs to you.

#34 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

In this case, I was referring to your friend Mancunian. I certainly hope this isn't some lame attempt to take my words out of context, again.

#35 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I am impolite to you, and I do it on purpose due to [edited] and not so good advice to teachers. You show a direct lack of sympathy and only care to promote yourself as having the best ideas while putting others down.

If posters such as you and ASTF had their way, nobody's word should be believed except for the both of yours. You wait for someone to state their ideas first then try and shill them to show how smart you are. But you do realize that only exposes you [edited], eh? [edited]

#36 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

You keep on about my lack of Chinese against your fluency-whereas, I admire you for all the hard work you must have put it, I myself am now trying hard to learn- and like old Major in Animal Farm I say to myself every day, I can work harder, and tomorrow I will work harder-or, specially learned to send this reply(yousee I must respect you) so the same in Chinese-jiu xiang Animal Farm li de Old Major,jingchang dui ziji shuo, wo keyi geng nuli de gongzuo.bingqie cong mingtian wo jiu hui geng nuli de gongzuo.(any mistakes, please correct me)lol

Yes, you can work harder and harder and promise that to your expensive clients in that fish tank of what resembles a classroom in some franchised crap pretend "school". Which one are you working at now? Web? IELTS? Aston? Have you always stayed at EF?

#37 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-07
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

So in a sense their existence has no real value to anyone or anything they feel attachment to

You mean that we are diao si

#38 Parent ASTF - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

The massive numbers of strangers who pass them every day in front of their windows and on the street are as "familiar" as the posters whom they respond to on the internet.

Yes, that's right! Well said dragonized. We should be careful not to take everything we read on the Internet as a given. Good advice.

#39 Parent Mancunian S - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Thank you for posting this Alice. I originally posted a not so kind response to the MC poster for writing the tripe he did but the admins thought it was too explicit apparently so it was never published. I will revise it and tone it down to this: Many, many middle aged men with nowhere else to go but a place like China need to work there in order to make a living. For all I know I could still be working as an ESl teacher by the time I am their age. But we need to

It hasn't gorn unnoticed, that you are being impolite to me, Dragonised...But never mind, it shouldn't be taken to heart by either of us-now am I right or am I right?

You keep on about my lack of Chinese against your fluency-whereas, I admire you for all the hard work you must have put it, I myself am now trying hard to learn- and like old Major in Animal Farm I say to myself every day, I can work harder, and tomorrow I will work harder-or, specially learned to send this reply(yousee I must respect you) so the same in Chinese-jiu xiang Animal Farm li de Old Major,jingchang dui ziji shuo, wo keyi geng nuli de gongzuo.bingqie cong mingtian wo jiu hui geng nuli de gongzuo.(any mistakes, please correct me)lol

#40 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Thank you for posting this Alice. I originally posted a not so kind response to the MC poster for writing the tripe he did but the admins thought it was too explicit apparently so it was never published. I will revise it and tone it down to this: Many, many middle aged men with nowhere else to go but a place like China need to work there in order to make a living. For all I know I could still be working as an ESl teacher by the time I am their age. But we need to be supportive and inform each other like you said of these terrible places so other individuals do not get hurt. Unfortunately a couple of these men who have been posting on here regularly for the last couple of months seem to have lost the values of where they came from. They are stuck in an odd state of being where they are no longer in touch with the culture that they were raised in, and do not have the smarts to fully integrate themselves into the new society that is hosting them. But being that they only get the best treatment as guests of course they would not feel the need to integrate themselves, not that the chinese would care to see them as equals ever. So in a sense their existence has no real value to anyone or anything they feel attachment to, so what do they do?

They troll, troll, and troll the posters with something real to share. They try and make others feel as worthless as they are by personally attacking and marginalizing anything useful so as to further their own means of justifying an nihilistic existence. The massive numbers of strangers who pass them every day in front of their windows and on the street are as "familiar" as the posters whom they respond to on the internet. Make fun of them as often as possible, and don't forget to add a few insults to bring them down to earth.

#41 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-06
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Seeing your post just reminds me of being in China all over again. You had asked me a ways back when I was going to go back. I tell you this: By reading your post on how nothing can be done you remind me of the numerous westerners and of course 99.999% of the Chinese who act like they are not responsible for anything and can't change anything. You are wrong because you are wrong.

#42 Parent Alice - 2013-02-02
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Hi Guys!

If every someone with anything to complain about chooses to keep quiet and just to walk away and to forget about it, in my own opinion deserves to be a victim and encourages these kind of schools to keep doing it to new comers in this industry, to make more and more victims among ESL teachers and to get the wrong idea that actually most of the ESL teachers are suckers and outfits who lack the courage to fight back, have no teeth and no balls! If last year Eric, the Cameroonian teacher took the beating and after two weeks left the school without posting any complain about this,was almost as quilty as those who beat him up( Ryn [edited])
.
If we, the ESL teachers as human beings do not have the guts to speak up and highlight the injustices and the negative aspects that happen in some of the Chinese schools, both private and public, we are quilty of being too scared, too coward or too ignorant about it and, who knows, it may happen to you one day. YOU MAY BE THE NEXT!

So there is so much more I can tell you but I think you can get the picture of what kind of school you are going to deal with if you accept a contract with Pingdingshan University.

DO YOURSEF A FAVOUR AND IF YOU ARE SENT A CONTRACT FROM PINGDINGSHAN UNIVERSITY< DELETE IT FROM YOUR INBOX AND NEVER LOOK BACK. if F...., one of the most infamous agents will introduce this school to you, just refuse.

YOU WILL THANK ME FOR IT!

#43 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

I assume you managed quite well by plugging in electric fires because you didn't say that your flat was cold;

People don't "manage quite well" if they feel that they have to talk about this in a public forum. [edited]

Broken windows or not, central heating or not, middle schools and universities are more often than not cold, because the students themselves like to very annoyingly open the windows- not much you can do about that one.

You can always ask them to close it or close them yourself. I like to open windows too, but I only open enough to let a slit of air through and there should always be central heating in a classroom, no exceptions. For a university to not have this shows that the money that is being given to them by the government is being spent on too much expensive watches, purses, and baijiu.

Your headmaster sounds very wise; although, you going around bare-footed in winter must have exasperated him.

The poster who started this thread never said she went around bare footed. The way she said it could also have been taken as an improvised excuse that the headmaster thought up himself to not see his own faulty reasoning. You don't see this, because you share the same faulty reasoning.

Yes, and he's right about the many layers of clothing needed too.

Yes, yes, yes the headmaster is always right. Now if anyone with anything to complain about in a wonderful country like china just shut up and not post in the first place, impeccable pillars of society like you wouldn't have to come here and put them in their place, isn't that right? [edited]

#44 Parent Mancunian - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

The ESL teachers housing has NO CENTRAL HEATING and also the classrooms have no heating and broken windows during the very cold Henan winter. I had to stay in a cold classroom 8 hours a day in December and after a while I did understand that the school has no heating for the whole winter time! When I complained about the lack of heating in the winter, the school headmaster advised me to wear more layers of clothes and do not go barefeet.

Well, Alice, Hello. Central Heating is not the 'be all and end all; central heating only means that the boiler/generator of the heating is centralised is a particular place, and sometimes quite remote from servant heating outlets in your flat. I assume you managed quite well by plugging in electric fires because you didn't say that your flat was cold; only that the classes were, because of the broken windows. Broken windows or not, central heating or not, middle schools and universities are more often than not cold, because the students themselves like to very annoyingly open the windows- not much you can do about that one. Your headmaster sounds very wise; although, you going around bare-footed in winter must have exasperated him. Yes, and he's right about the many layers of clothing needed too.

#45 Parent Mancunian - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Living with dignity in China can be a chore as the people there foreign and local will exploit you and backstab you at every turn. Hope more truths like this comes out so we can all take measures on protecting ourselves from the barbaric behavior of uncultured people.

Hello Dragonised

That's just about everybody in the world that's causing you grief and not only the Chinese- the foreigners just about represent all the rest of us, Americans, English, Welsh, Australians, Scottish, Nigerians, Irish, New Zealanders, Canadians...et ceteras et ceteras. I'm not trying to bicker with you ,Dragonised, just point out that the Chinese are not any nastier or nicer than the rest of us- now, am I right or am I right?

#46 Parent San Migs - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

sorry no time now, too much more pressing stuff to bother to explain english sayings.

#47 Parent Dragonized - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

This "school" will only treat teachers like they're meat and lie in your face at every opportunity. Goes to show you the level of contempt the Chinese have for Foreigners and how much they don't care about other human beings. This R[edited] dude sounds like a typical western loser who is stuck where he is because of the lack of people skills and [edited] mind. Of course where else would he go besides China where he can get away with shit like this.

Living with dignity in China can be a chore as the people there foreign and local will exploit you and backstab you at every turn. Hope more truths like this comes out so we can all take measures on protecting ourselves from the barbaric behavior of uncultured people.

#48 Parent Mancunian - 2013-02-01
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Thanks for the heads up. Another one to avoid!

Well said, San Mig.

This 'head ups' expression, I've heard a few times by different posters on this site, to apparantly indicate 'thumbs down' Now I know, heads up, heads down, tails up, tails down, used to make a decision upon the toss of a coin; but(and pardon the pun) I can't make head or tails of 'heads up' to mean what it seems to on this site. I like to try and understand how words or expressions mean what they do; so, if you can go into this 'heads up' for me I'd appreciate it. Many thanks.

#49 Parent San Migs - 2013-01-31
Re: PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Thanks for the heads up. Another one to avoid!

Alice - 2013-01-31
PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China

Pingdingshan University , Henan province, - the worst place to be as an ESL teacher in China. AVOID! AVOID! AVOID!

Pingdingshan Univerity is famous for its lack of foreign teachers because of the dishonest behaviour, unfriendly and corrupt staff, very...very poor working conditions, horrible housing area.

Pingdingshan University is unable to fulfil the promises and most teachers leave after only one month of contract. By using the most infamous ESL agents, Pingdingshan university will lure the ESL teachers with promises it fails to deliver and by the time you find out it's too late.

The ESL teachers housing has NO CENTRAL HEATING and also the classrooms have no heating and broken windows during the very cold Henan winter. I had to stay in a cold classroom 8 hours a day in December and after a while I did understand that the school has no heating for the whole winter time! When I complained about the lack of heating in the winter, the school headmaster advised me to wear more layers of clothes and do not go barefeet.

There are lots of lies at Pingdingshan university, they do not PAY ON TIME and if you got the guts to ask your rights they will threat you phisically.

Last year, a teacher from Cameroon, Eric, has been beaten close to death when had the courage to ask for the ticket bonus at the end of the term by Dylan R[edited], an American colleague, who was given the power and constantly encouraged by the school headmaster, so called MR He, to bully the other ESL teachers and even allowed him and his gand to beat them. So a black ESL teacher has been beaten only because had the guts to ask for his rights stipulated in the school's contract. And the school covered everything and kept the American hooligan, even allowed him to move in his girlfriend alias his student and to live happilly in the teacher"s apartment.
What happened at this infamous university is almost unbelievable!!

THIS IS PINGDINGSHAN UNIVERSITY< THE WORST PLACE TO BE IN CHINA!
SO DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND AVOID THIS PLACE !

Return to Index › PIngdingshan University, Henan province, China






Go to another board -