SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC
#1 Parent Littlewhitemonkey - 2017-11-19
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

With the exception of the monkey dance and paid tickets it’s pretty much exactly the same at their sister school in Jurong. Working for country garden is a nightmare. It’s a work camp and the IB experience counts for nothing because the curriculum isn’t even being implemented correctly, it’s just a big show to impress parents.

#2 Parent English Monkey - 2017-11-14
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Guangdong Country Garden School is a Zoo, and you’re the English Monkey.

Native English Teachers are treated as little more than a student-teacher with a foreign face to appease the parents. Administration has loaded the schedule with trivial tasks (preparing & serving food, dancing like a monkey), and frequently take away the planning period for poorly organized professional development or meetings. This means many Native English Teachers are forced to work late or during lunch to complete their lesson plans and prepare materials for lessons.

The Native English Teacher is required to serve food at three meals daily. A full chicken/duck/fish is delivered to the table, and the administration expects the teachers to remove the chicken/duck/fish from the bone and serve it to students. They also expect teachers to remove shellfish from the shell.

Teachers are encouraged to purchase resources for their classroom, which is absurd given that students pay a small fortune in tuition and fees.

Although there are four teachers for each class of about 20-25 students, the classes are EXTREMELY chaotic and disorganized. I attribute this to the Chinese teacher’s reluctance to establish procedures and rules, fearful of parent/admin backlash for being too strict.

Any glance into a classroom, and you’ll see that Chinese teachers are not mentally present in the class, instead they are glued to their cell phones. They’re communicating with parents, providing real-time updates about what is going on the classroom, as well as managing the mountain of messages from the various work groups.

Chinese teachers are not guaranteed a job from year to year, they participate in teaching competitions, and avoid any parental complaints to ‘win’ their job from year-to-year. This means that Chinese teachers will do whatever necessary to appease parents. They will also prepare elaborate Open Classes, that are not at all representative of how their normal lessons are formatted.

Administration sells tickets for visiting teachers/guests to tour and observe the classrooms in Kindergarten. This means that in any given week, there are hundreds of visitors in the Kindergarten. They walk around, taking pictures and recording students/teachers without seeking consent first. This is particularly concerning, as they are recording students in various stages of undress, including when students are showering following outdoor activities. The visitors enter classrooms, disrupting routines and take pictures of classroom decor, portfolios and students. All without seeking consent first. When Native English Teachers complain about being recorded, we are told that it is part of our job to welcome visitors.

There are also surveillance cameras in common areas and canteens to monitor activity in the school.

There are evening meetings a several times a semester to discuss complaints/suggestions from Native English teachers, very little change ever occurs. Administration does not respect our perspective or experience, and they are not at all concerned about reducing the high turn-over.

#3 Parent Your Exposed - 2017-11-10
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Life is surely not a beach or a Country Garden at this bogus place.It is in the middle of nowhere.

#4 Parent Robert on the Sauce Exposed - 2017-11-11
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Why wait, Run like the devil!

#5 Parent Mrs. Crlyon Exposed - 2017-11-10
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Sounds like the same shit school.

#6 Parent Dancing Monkey Exposed - 2017-11-10
Dancing Monkey Dance-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

I would recommend going to another school instead of this one. The environment can be so stressful because of the terrible management and poor ethics from the Chinese managers. CGS is a shell of a school and it is missing many basic fundamentals and the students are missing out on a real education.

Some teachers at this school have been deducted pay for missing school days, while actually being at school and teaching in class that day. The school will try to control you by threatening to cut your salary, CGS do not abide by regulations and policies that they decide to just make up last minute which you did not to agree to in your contract.

CGS is incredibly unprofessional and juvenile.

Teachers do a song and the cgs monkey dance after flag raising ceremony on Monday mornings.

We have Thursday mandatory evening meeting from 6:30 pm-9:00 pm

If you want to save yourself a major headache you will be wise to not apply at this school! Once you are here it is difficult to just leave especially if you have financial obligations.

#7 Parent mr.wolf - 2017-11-09
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Is this the school that's about 90 minutes by bus from Shenzhen at a beach resort? I actually was offered a contract and went down there to check things out. Didn't like it because it was so far out in the sticks. Glad I didn't take it after reading this

#8 Parent Former BGY Victim - 2017-11-06
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Would people please just march into the "Principal's" office and revolt? Refuse to work until he's gone. Also don't be afraid to trash the place.

#9 Parent Concerned FT - 2017-11-06
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Yes, good idea for personal revenge! Such scum absolutely does deserve it!

Vandalize the cars of the "leaders" before you do a runner The leaders hate it when they find their BMW'S and Mercedes full of scratches and dents , lol!
#10 Parent CGS Exposed - 2017-11-06
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Wow, I almost took a pyp position at cgs. I am glad I kept my job at Disney English, its much more stable.

#11 Parent Silverboy - 2017-11-05
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Vandalize the cars of the "leaders" before you do a runner The leaders hate it when they find their BMW'S and Mercedes full of scratches and dents , lol!

#12 Parent That dude - 2017-11-05
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Wow, sounds like things have gone from bad to worse. I applied to this school last year.
Had an interview setup, and was preparing for a demo when at that time another school called me with a much better offer.

I will say, after living in Foshan for about five year, I have never heard a good review of that school.

#13 Parent CGS Elvie Wumao Exposed - 2017-11-05
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

There is a decent international school Clifford in the area but at country garden school that is clearly not the case.This year 2017 there have been several instances where administration has threatened not to pay teachers their salary due to mistakes they made and tried to cover up. Your salary is never ensured and you cannot trust that it will be paid to you,paid on time, or that money is not deducted. Some teachers at this school have been deducted pay for taking a needed sick day,or because the 1980's clock in system that only foreign teachers must use is not working that day, and we are marked absent,although we were at school.

The school will try to control you by threatening to cut your salary if you do not abide by regulations and policies that they decide to just make up last minute which you did not to agree to in your contract. It is incredibly unprofessional and juvenile.Staff moral is the lowest than any school I have ever worked at, and we are only into November?

We are all being affected by a negative toxic environment, and on Monday mornings at 8 am western teachers have to do a song and dance known in Chinese as the cgs 'monkey dance' in front of the local teachers and students.We have weekly evening meetings from 6:30 p.m.-9:00.I am not usually one to bad mouth or go on a rampage but I would never wish, upon anyone, the stress and frustration that I have encountered while working for the past three months at shitty country garden school, doing the cgs monkey dance.

#14 Parent Lying Jeffrey Exposed - 2017-11-04
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Great Idea Silverboy, please do share any others.

Money is god to these people

http://www.countrygardenexposed.is/

#15 Parent Smileawhile - 2017-11-04
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Collective action among staff against the boss.

The way to go for exploited workers in any country. Nice one!

Stuff zero hour contracts or individual work contracts.

Mama Don't by J.J. Cale

http://music.163.com/#/song?id=18607967

Get them Aussie meat pies down your gullet, especially Mama's!

#16 Parent crap school hater - 2017-11-04
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Correct. Crap "schools" absolutely deserve such a mess!

The aim is to cause chaos and disruption to the school and to destroy it's "reputation".
#17 Parent Silverboy - 2017-11-03
Re Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Why don't you just do a runner now? Why wait? If you can get at least 10 people to do a runner at the same time this really messes a school up. Forget about the salary, it's peanut money anyway. The aim is to cause chaos and disruption to the school and to destroy it's "reputation". I have caused many problems for Chinese people and I know how to hurt them. You need to also dig up some dirt on the "leaders" of this school and plaster it all over the Internet on different websites. Mud sticks, haha! Chinese hate this!

Mrs. Uton Exposed - 2017-11-03
Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC

Just a warning to any potential teachers.Several of us who have taken up employment at cgs (Guangdong Country Garden School Foshan,Shunde,bgy,China)will be pulling runners after pay day, or at Chinese New Year.We have to do a ridicules song and monkey dance in the playground on Monday mornings to amuse the students.They will be advertising for new monkey dancing teachers very shortly.

Stay away from this school!

The remaining international principal is a dictator, who has made things worse. There are multiple counts of him using verbal abuse and misleading / flat out lying to teachers. There is more than enough evidence to prove this, please ask for emails of atleast 3-4 teachers so you can talk to them first before taking the job. This year, they actually lowered the salary again of everyone who came back.

Please read all the reviews and speak to multiple teachers before accepting the job, also read the contract very carefully. We have to work 40 hours a week not including: time before 8 am, a 2.5 hour lunch period, and a 1 hour dinner period. It is totally normal for teachers to go home at 6pm and still get called in for missing hours. You must clock in and clock out after which you are accountable for your hours up to the minute and there is never any mention of overtime pay if you work over your weekly hours. Furthermore, expect to work atleast 2 evenings every week. We have meetings Thursday nights from 7:30-9 that are mandatory and someone just reads a PPT slide word for word in chinese or very poor english. The senior section has meetings friday evenings.

Don't believe anything the international principal tells you, he will lie and mislead you and then when you get here, he will turn on you and verbally abuse you,while you do the Monday morning monkey dance.

Return to Index › Bgy-Guangdong Country Garden School,bgy,Shunde,Foshan,PRC






Go to another board -