SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it
#1 Parent Fifi - 2017-10-23
Re: Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Ha ha hahhhhhhhh

SB is one with the quote from your link http://www.fantasdeck.com/ "If a man could fuck a woman in a cardboard box, he wouldn't buy a house."

#2 Parent Joshua Harwood - 2017-10-23
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

My most recent information on them is that the Chinese Elan chain, under Time China Education Holdings, Ltd., merged with Bright Scholar Education Holdings, Ltd. (NYSE:BEDU). They moved their incompetent curricular director to recruitment director, so hopefully they hired someone with an iota of knowledge about second language acquisition into that empty slot.

Just a heads up in case anyone gets confused by this crap firm's switch of its corporate label.

#3 Parent Ex BGY employee - 2017-07-31
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Something very important to note, Elan is a subsidiary of BGY, the same real estate developing company that owns our all time favorite and well known crap school, Guangdong Country Garden.

They even opened a center in Shunde in the very same cancer-village (seriously, there is an abnormally high percentage of laowai living there who get cancer, but this isn't the topic) community where said school is located, and mostly feed off students from the school who are 'encouraged' to join the center after school but truly don't have any choice if they want to get higher marks.

Most likely, their other centers are also located near BGY owned schools that they feed off from, good business strategy I will give them that, two bird but one stone, milk the parents twice for the same stuff.

What you get are unwilling students who at least are too exhausted from their 12h school day to screw around.

Keep on mind that all the management or centers principals are promoted sales people from the parent real estate company BGY. They are clueless in any and all things related to education (even though they love to pretend otherwise even in the face of a certified teacher with 20+ years of experience) and as far as management goes are some of the most incompetent people I have ever had the displeasure to work with. But at least they are good sales, which is probably the reason they got promoted in the first place.

And they are definitely not allowed to hire Foreigners, they use third-party agents to sponsor the visa for them, which leads to a great many problems related to legal status down the road for the teacher, as you already pointed out.

In sum a crap branch of a crap company, to be avoided at any cost.

#4 Parent IHateElan - 2017-05-16
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

I wanted to add something about their illegal hiring practices, as other respondents have commented on.

They are not legally a school. As a result, they cannot hire "teachers". So what they do is they will hire you under a false job title. They hired me as a computer engineer or something like that. I asked my colleagues and the ones that knew told me all sorts of odd jobs, like marketing and accounting. Why is this a problem, you ask?

First, when the police bust down the door for an inevitable raid, they will see you standing in front of a class full of kids and know that you aren't doing marketing or IT. You will be arrested. You will be deported.

Second, when you inevitably quit or get fired, your next job must somehow be related to whatever fake job they gave you. My current employer is now forced to bend the truth and say that my current job has something to do with computers, even if it doesn't specifically.

I also wanted to add that the reason I know this is because they made me sign a second contract a month or so after started. I told them let me look at it, and I saw the different job title. This is where I knew something was up.

Finally when I tried to quit, they started demanding a 15,000 RMB penalty for giving them less than three months notice. It's not written in the contract, but in the "handbook", to which the contract says you must follow. I did not pay this penalty. I threatened to get the police and labor department involved. I got out without paying, but just barely.

Bottom line, do not work for this company, ever. They are poison. They are vile. Oh and they pay non whites less than whites. I found that out right after I quit. All of this is just the worst stuff. There was endless other lies, cheating, deception, and cruelty going on daily.

#5 Parent Joshua Harwood - 2017-05-09
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Yes, some, but they're mostly book titles by that point. Students at E1 and are just handed a story book or novella, are told to read it, and then do some quizzes. If you look at the Elan Student Assessments folder, which is in the zip file I already left a Dropbox link to, it tells you exactly what books students are assigned.

Parents with sufficient English skill could walk their children through the same thing at home by just quizzing their comprehension after each chapter. If they understood about 80% of it, then they can move on to the next chapter or the next book in their series (or literally any other paced series). If not, they could have them re-read, clarify things, or the like. In fact, it would be better than going to Elan.

Elan doesn't even do that! If the kids fail, they just move on. They basically set them up to fail, and then blame the students as their shitty curriculum digs them deeper and deeper into incomprehension. It's literally the laziest con I've ever seen in my history of language instruction, and this is coming from a man who laughed in the face of TutorABC's hiring manager when I got a glimpse of their materials, who refused to do a second interview with Wall Street English because a fourth-grader could crap out better PPT presentations and offer more competent curricular advice, and who refused to consider work Andrew Shewbart at Alo7 doing corpus data analysis because he was basically a dimwit who I literally heard taking bong hits while he "interviewed me" (or rather, desperately sought free consultation because he had no good ideas of his own).

East Asia (at least Taiwan, China, and South Korea, definitely) is basically a land where being an absolute fraud will get you rich.

#6 Parent Judy - 2017-05-06
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Wow~~Thanks for your informative reply! It really helps! BTW, do you have any materials related to their Elan courses (E1-1, E1-2, etc) by any chance?

#7 Parent Joshua Harwood - 2017-05-06
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

* not trained

Sorry. A bit of a stickler. ;)

#8 Parent Joshua Harwood - 2017-05-06
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

That's not an accident. Jonathan [edited] explained in detail how some pedagogically apathetic stock broker basically bought some license to the South Korean brand, but then had to wangle some illusion of a competent curriculum together, so he directed the guy who taught his daughters (that is, Jonathan, with no curricular development experience) to shit out a series of lesson plans for the entire chain.

Un-miraculously, they managed to keep all of the worst parts of the South Korean Elan's curriculum intact. Elan still uses those godawful Houghton Mifflin Harcourt StoryTown books, which were never meant for ESL students, but instead compose part of the "learn-like-the-natives-learn" pitch to naive families with no SLA knowledge.

#9 Parent FTinPRC - 2017-04-12
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Worst of all, they named the place 'Elan'.

#10 Parent Joshua Harwood - 2017-04-12
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

I know all about it. It's basically a scam, and you'll risk real jail time if you go.

Here was my submitted review to various websites.

- The HR department outright lies about the legality of employees' visa statuses to get them to work illegally. This has led to the imprisonment of around ten foreign Elan employees in just the last year.

- The Foreign Affairs Manager, Ryan Sun, had the gall to chastise me for immediately returning home after the Beijing police had informed me that I was not permitted to work under my current status (holding a Z visa receipt, but not yet a Z visa in my passport), and thus should not remain on the premises. I received explicit information in both English and Chinese (I speak both) from said officers explaining why my documentation was insufficient during this police inspection, and yet Mr. Ryan Sun still sought to reprimand me for being "unprofessional" because I obeyed police orders.

- The class materials were developed by Elan's incompetent Academic Director, Jonathan Hynes, and a rushed curricular development team that was clearly asleep at the wheel. Almost all of Elan's textbooks, quizzes, and other materials that centers required instructors to use were rife with vacuous drills, grammar misexplanations, misleading diagrams, lazy (and sometimes impossible) exercises, and even ridiculously many typos and grammatical errors.

- That same Academic Director also chose textbooks containing student-incomprehensible directions, created minute-to-minute schedules that were longer than students' class times, and made no real pacing or proofreading efforts in the materials he compiled. So, quizzes contained terms that were harder than those being assessed, entries mismatched parts of speech, and even made elementary lexical mistakes. He was essentially setting up students to fail.

-- There were as many as a dozen or more such errors or defects PER PAGE in many cases.

- The "native speaker" requirement was a blatant lie that kept qualified librarians from Anglophone nations from teaching, while the firm recruited English teachers from Western and Eastern Europe. This contradicts the very idea (promoted on their website) that they'll be "learning like native speakers," since students can't gain native-level proficiency from a non-natives, and the majority of them were no trained in any methodology that held any such promise for students.

- Upper management expected miracles out of a hat, without providing the appropriate authority, coordination, or directives to deliver them.

- Students were only ability-grouped if it was cost-effective. Otherwise, they were wangled into schedules by age and expected to make equal progress with those who were appropriately placed.

- Students routinely engaged in pushing matches, and sometimes even fistfights, in the lobby of the center where I worked.

- Time Education China Holdings' CEO spent an entire year-end dinner speech talking almost exclusively about how much money his business has made, and little to nothing about the efficacy of the programs he actually sells. This focus on profit over pedagogical quality trickles down to the centers, where talk about sales overrides talks about objectivity in measuring students' abilities or improvements in materials for their benefit.

- "Training" consisted of being told things everyone already knew by Academic "Director" Jonathan Hynes because he delayed the training by a month.

Here's a link to download all of their materials, in case you're interested: https://www.dropbox.com/s/yj8wup8yb68dbbd/Elan%20Teaching%20Materials.zip?dl=0

#11 Parent Former FT in China - 2016-10-22
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Hello,

I have also been offered a position with this school. They are advising me to come over on a tourist visa and then apply for a Z visa once in China (because I am yet to complete my TEFL course). I hold my bachelors degree though. Is this a wise thing to do?

Thanks,

Not wise, imo.

#12 Parent Tom - 2016-10-22
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Hello,

I have also been offered a position with this school. They are advising me to come over on a tourist visa and then apply for a Z visa once in China (because I am yet to complete my TEFL course). I hold my bachelors degree though. Is this a wise thing to do?

Thanks,

#13 Parent Previous teacher - 2016-10-17
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

They do not have a license to hire foreign workers. I quit after being told by text message to "hide if police come". They use an agent to get Z visa which only says "work" not "teacher". Ask them if they will provide FEC (foreign expert certificate) all legal schools can, illegal can not. There are 7000 English schools in Beijing, only 500 are legal. If you get caught, you will be automatically deported at your expense. If you are qualified (TEFL or CELTA certified with 2 years experience) find a school that can give you FEC.

#14 Parent Kingkong is coming - 2016-09-27
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

take a public job, they follow labor law and you will have long holidays and you can work weekends in a private school on your terms, it's true u earn more !Saturday is their busiest day and they all need part-timers its the nature of demand

#15 Parent Sliu618 - 2016-09-27
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

I'm currently working for at the company that just offered you a job. This is what I can tell you...

1. They have never been late on paying me or any other teacher their salary.
2. The salary agreed upon in the contract is exactly what they pay you (after tax has been deducted).
3. They do give you a Z visa.
4. Your ability to rise within the company depends on your ability to prove you're worthy of a promotion. This company hates entitled people. If you're willing to work, they are more than happy to keep you and reward you.
5. Time Education China.... is just the parent company that owns Elan School.

Things you should know before coming to China (if you haven't already been told):

1. This IS China. Take every preconception you have of how things should be and throw it out the window. Its a different culture and a different country, and understanding that they do things differently here will make your stay much more enjoyable.
2. Although rent is not very expensive per month, the large single payment you have to make to rent a place can be. In Beijing its usually (5 x monthly rent) for the first three months. It breaks down to 3 months rent for the first three months, plus 1 month rent for deposit, and 1 month rent for the agency fee (for helping you find the place). So bring enough cash to last you until your second paycheck.

#16 Parent gopublic - 2016-09-26
Re Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

never work for an agency! its also illegal no to work for a school that is not listed on your visa. This means you can work for only one school or company. Work for a public school and take free housing and as few hours as possible the real money is in private lessons.

Deniz - 2016-09-25
Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it

Just got an offer from Elan School, Time Education China Holding Ltd.

It will be my first job in China and I was wondering if anyone had worked there or knew of it. I'm really scared of being scammed, and the many websites on the subject have me worried.

Thanks

Return to Index › Elan School in Beijing, does anyone know about it






Go to another board -