SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY
#1 Parent Silverboy - 2017-10-16
Re: PELCC - Still Scamming from U.S. to China in 2017

Well known crooks in ESL who have been in operation for some time. I first became aware of them in 2007.

They were around before that. Surprised they are still around scamming people.

KEEP AWAY FROM THESE CRIMINALS!

#2 Parent They ALMOST Got Me - 2017-10-16
Re: PELCC - Still Scamming from U.S. to China in 2017

All,

I concur with the negative information here about Perlandas Harris and Fenny. They are scam artists, even now in October 2017 as I write this. Here is my story with these two assholes. I live in the U.S. and was looking for teaching jobs in China. I apply on some ESL sites and Fenny eventually emails me. We talk about the position but she never tells me which school I will be working at. Fenny wants me to first get my college degree and criminal background check notarized and authenticated before I even have an interview, which is different than most other schools. Fenny tells me that Mr. Harris can give me a good deal for the notarization and authentication services and to send all of my documents to him, the good deal being a $550 USD fee! Perlandas Harris wants this paid through some random PayPal link only. His website is: http://www.internationalnotarization.com, which is a site full of bullshit and phony stock photos of random professionally looking people. I will find out later that Perlandas Harris makes many fake business websites then shuts them down after he scams people. The website says Mr. Harris is in Washington DC, well, so am I! I call him and offer to meet him in person, but he seems reluctant to meet me, and never tells me his first name (sign of a drug dealer). The number on his website was 1-844-866-4622, which gets forwarded to his cell phone meaning he could be anywhere in the world! I go to the DC office listed on the website (1629 K St. NW, Suite 300) and it is filled with other small offices. The ladies at the front desk say Mr. Harris is never there but I can leave things in his mailbox. I get Mr. Harris’s first name, Perlandas, and do a Google search. I see that Perlandas Harris and Fenny have been scamming people from Hong Kong, to China, to the U.S. for over 12 years! They make the foreign teachers they recruit pay them half of their teaching salary and other crazy fees! I immediately retrieve my package from Perlandas’s DC office; it was just my degree, copy of my background check, and a letter I signed, but I got it back. I never paid these two any money, so I did not lose anything thank goodness.
Later I email and WeChat Fenny and Perlandas and call them out on their scam. They never reply back, but Fenny immediately blocks me on WeChat and removes me from her recruitment group.

Below are photos of this Bonnie & Clyde duo. The first photo is Perlandas Harris, and on the right is a screen shot of his profile from https://www.xing.com/profile/Perlandas_Harris. On the bottom left of the photo is a screenshot of Fenny’s WeChat profile at the time, where her WeChat ID name is pure gibberish (wxid_ymv9wych8j3u22), something she can delete when she needs to. She tells me she does not know the real name of “Mr. Harris”, but has photos of herself and this Perlandas Harris in her profile.

STAY AWAY FROM FENNY AND PERLANDAS HARRIS! THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS! THE INTERNET DISCUSSIONS ARE TRUE! FENNY AND PERLANDAS HARRIS ARE CRIMINALS!

[IMG] http://i68.tinypic.com/11b13cn.jpg [/IMG]

#3 Parent Good Fella - 2013-06-21
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

I just applied online for a public school position in Shenzhen through PELCC yesterday evening. This morning I received an email message from Fenny suggesting that I apply for a higher paying job at a private elementary school in Guangzhou that begins immediately, presumably at the start of a summer school programme. In hindsight I can see why she offered me this position; I told her in my cover letter that I would be arriving in Guangzhou next week for two or three weeks after having finished a contract in another location. Well, anyway, an hour or two later she sent another email telling me that the position in Guangzhou would begin in September after all. Of course, she never explained why, and I didn't bother to ask because at this point I began to smell a rat. Instead I did some research on this notorious company to confirm my suspicions and decided to see how this hilarity would unfold before telling Fenny to never contact me again in expletive terms. Sure enough, later this afternoon she informed me that we can both go to the primary school in Guangzhou for an interview. (I had no idea she was in Shenzhen at the time.) I said that would be fine and I would call her after I arrived in Guangzhou. Soon after this exchange in the afternoon, Fenny sent me another message telling me that the school wanted an English teacher who could also teach Spanish and that she had another better position available elsewhere, blah, blah, blah! Luckily the roar of my laughter didn't cause my apartment building to collapse. It was at this point I was no longer in want of amusement and told her where she could go. I deeply regret having sent her scanned copies of all the essential documents for a job application here. I'm afraid she will use my identity and personal information to lure prospective employers into signing contracts with her company by using the same bait-and-switch approach.

#4 Parent turnip11111 - 2010-09-29
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

Oh my... What can an experienced teacher dying to teach in Hong Kong do then? I did send Perlandas/Fenny my details (diploma & references) but refused to forward a copy of my passport over the internet. After one week I am asked if I am only interested in Hong Kong, despite my detailed explanation that yes - I want Hong Kong... Is there any light in the tunnel, any legitimate school or language centre that does not treat teachers as if they were gullible pawns?........

#5 Parent englishgibson - 2010-08-01
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

Darn, aren't these people all over the elt site? I've pointed out to the owner before that his site had some really questionable job offers. I can't believe what's going on in the job market on mainland. It must be really difficult for the sites that advertise jobs, for job seekers, and, yes, even for the agents. :)Cheers and beers

#6 Parent onedaytheidiotswillreadthisboardfirst - 2010-07-31
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

PELCC are still up and running................my advice runaway as far as you can from them!
They are a butch of rip-off merchants.
Stay away and sign nothing !!!!
And if any of you good schools use PELCC, drop him.
Read all the Blogs an you will see
Fenny & Perlandas you should be ashamed.................

#7 Parent Shannon C - 2010-07-16
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

Thank god for this website and for all of you that tested those crazy waters before I jumped in to Perlandas Ed. He just responded regarding sending emails of my passport, degree, references. I've never talked to him, so why would I want to show a complete stranger my sensitive passport information? I thought I smelled a rat so I checked for comments and opinions via google and read your stories.

And his website looks like it was thrown together by a 7 year old -- it's a really cheap website.

I've been to Hong Kong before, only for a week but i got to feel it out. HK schools are really, really hard to get and require maximum certification for fair pay, but if i had the same certifications and credentials Hong Kong demands in America I'd be paid twice the salary.

I thought something wasn't right regarding the thousands of ads he posted online. The perks and pay just seemed too good to be true --

Again, it's always appreciated to not get played a chump. Thanks guys!

#8 Parent Andy - 2009-03-19
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

To All,

I'm a former business executive who is semi retired and have just seen and believe what is being said in the blog beforehand. As of this date, I have just experienced the Perlandas and Fenny act a couple of of months ago, as described by others before me. And it's now coming to light to me and explains many things. I came for the one hour interview and thank god was already in Shenzhen, a business and teaching contract already over. I normally take things with a jaudiced eye and should have in this case. I think is it unfortunate that this American fellow with all his idiosyncracies, that he could falsely mirror all the great jobs out there. I was promised employment on short order in the region but never ever got a call and my e-mails unanswered in spite of my expodential teaching credentials. It was a very difficult outfit to get to by phone, especially with that Fenny girl. It is the most unprofessional outfit I have experienced in my 4 great years in China. They should not be in business at all. I'm tempted to have my Embassy put this firm on alert for possible irregularities. It's just a feeling.

Andy

#9 Parent Expat Teachers Forum - 2009-03-19
Re: PELCC

This is a no brainer, there are just so many forums with BAD NEWS about Perlandas.
Almost daily, there are problems with this strange outfit.
So ignore the advise to stay clear at your peril
We know many honorable Chinese companies, this one is run by a dubious American

#10 Parent Skeptic - 2009-03-19
Re: PELCC

So, how many complaints, or rather what proportion of complaints versus hired FT's merits a particular school or recruiter being blacklisted? Indeed a difficult judgement to make. My own experience has taught me that a school with a single complaint online can be worse to work for than a recruiter with a barrowload. In brief, distrust any Chinese employer to start with, your trust has to be earned here as opposed to taken for granted.
Tread carefully whomever you teach for. New snakepits are awaiting you just round the next corner!

#11 Parent Expat Teachers Forum - 2009-03-19
Re: PELCC

You are really not serious and who are you really, Perlandas trying to cover your dubious company.
There are so many websites full of complaints about your misleading operation, if so many people complain there must
be a big problem.
You and Fenny are the problem, you are an American try to act like one with honor.
Your company operation is to say the least colorful.
Be so very careful if you use this company, so many regret the experience.
TAKE NOTE YOU WERE WARNED

#12 Parent Cam - 2008-02-26
My experience with PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY this week

If this is posted twice then I apoligize but I wanted to make sure I got this story out...

This week I went to visit Fenny and Perlandas at their office in Shenzhen. It seemed like their names were all over the internet and they seem to have control of the best jobs. In fact, many of the ESL boards are flooded with their postings. I was optimistic because I assumed that I could come away with a decent job.

For the first twenty minutes, everything seemed great. I sat down with Fenny and Perlandas and we made small chat about America and China. Perlandas is an African American from Tenessee and he is friendly enough. He seems to have had a lot of success with his education and business. I kept waiting for him to bring up the subject of the job and it almost seemed like they were trying to make me feel too comfortable.

Finally, Perlandas grabbed his laptop, opened a window and let me have a look. They were offering me a job with some "unnamed" school that offered a fairly low salary and "negotiable" benefits. When I asked about the negotiable benefits he kind of shrugged and said I could ask for anything I wanted but most likely I wouldn't get it. Apparently, negotiable benefits was a meaningless word.

The job that they offered me was not exactly what I had hoped for so I made reference to the literally dozens if not hundreds of other jobs that I had seen posted under their agency name. He mumbled something about those jobs already having been "filled up" because of the lateness of the month. Of course, I realized then that something wasn't quite right as there was no way that ALL of those jobs could have been filled so quickly. I have recruited teachers myself (as a favor for an old school that I worked for in China) and I know that there had to be other jobs available. Right then, I knew this wasn't going to be a good situation for me but I was a little bit curious about the rest of the process so I went ahead and said that I was interested in the job.

Almost immediately I was handed a piece of paper which contained two STARTLING demands.

1. I would have to promise to allow the SCHOOL to give PERLANDAS 50 PERCENT of my earning in the first month. I was really shocked by this. No where in any of Perlandas listings was there ever a hint that I would have to pay for any of this. I assumed that the school's would pay the recruiters. And 50% of my first month's earnings? That would have been well over 400 US!

2. Equally shocking to me was the stipulation that if I wanted to continue with this school after a year, I would have to PAY ANOTHER 400 US again! In other words, Perlandas would OWN me until I stopped working for that school.

Needless to say, I got up and said "thanks but not thanks." I was sorry that I had wasted my time.

Look, I don't think that Perlandas is running a scam. I am sure that there was a school out there somewhere that would have hired me but I was really dissappointed to discover that a fellow American was taking advantage of teachers in this way. I can only sincerely hope that not too many teachers have fallen for this business...but by the looks of his office and his optimism about expanding into other provinces, I am guessing that business is pretty good.

Please, if you are a newbie foreign English teacher, be careful with these kind of agencies. You can do a lot better just to go and find a position YOURSELF! Do the research and find out what others are saying about schools. Don't PAY MONEY to recruiters because it isn't necessary and I have a feeling it may be more trouble than good.

I would really like to find out what schools are associated with Perlandas because truth be told, I can't imagine any legitimate ones wanting to have anything to do with this type of business..

Alright, that's my little story. It was a good learning experience...

Cam

#13 Parent POLICEMAN - 2008-01-22
Re: FRANK ZHANG ALIAS JAMES WANG

KEEP AN EYE ON THE EVIL FRANK ZHANG RECRUITER AND CONMAN FROM SHANGHAI DO NOT TRUST THIS MAN THERE HAVE BEEN A LOT OF TEACHERS AND SCHOOLS THAT HAVE BEEN SET UP AND TAKEN FOR A RIDE BY THIS GUY.

HE HAS SOLD MANY TEACHERS TO MANY SCHOOLS AND TAKEN THE DEPOSIT AND AIRFARE MONEY UP FRONT FOR THESE TEACHERS. MANY HAVE BEEN SENT BACK OR MADE TO WORK WITH NO LEGAL PAPERS. THREE TEACHER WERE EVEN FLOWN BACK AFTER THE SCHOOL REFUSED TO ISSUE VISA PAPERS BECAUSE FRANK ZHANG TOLD THEM TO ARRIVE ON A TOURIST L VISA. HE LIES AND CHEATS AND WILL CAUSE YOU GREAT PROBLEMS AND EXPENSE. FRANK ZHANG SHANGHAI REMEMBER THIS ONE.

#14 Parent Norgus - 2008-01-20
Re: PELCC

More on Mr Zhang, Full time crook, part time human being, at best. You have to have credibility for it to be destroyed Frank, or whatever your name is.

#15 Parent Richard Zhang Represenative of PELCC - 2008-01-19
PELCC

I would like to express my apprecitation for those who have taken advantage of the services of PELCC. As you might already know, there are individuals who are looking to destroy the credibility of our company for some reason or another. The statements being made on this site are false and has no validity whatsoever. I would like to give you an perfect example. Please look carefully at the job description that was posted on this site, and then compare it with the original posting on our website. You will find that the expected salaries have been pasted from another job position. Anyways, nice try. Despite, the fact that you are using all of your time to discredit the professionalism our company, our mission will be to continue offering top quality service to those expats in need of teaching positions throughout China.

Regards:
Mr. Zhang
c/o: PELCC

#16 Parent Robert A. Kerr - 2008-01-07
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

I have had some problems with this organization. At first while trying to receive some information, I added that I was a Caucasian male from Canada. I received a reply stating that anyone of any race could get this position. I would highly annoyed at the content as it suggested that I was racist, and was trying to look superior.

If I was a racist why would I be teaching in China? Clearly, that's not the best place for a racist. I was angered, and stated I was aware and that it was intended for descriptive purposes as I had no pictures ready at the moment of when I sent the request for information.

Furthermore, they always demand you fly down to Shenzhen to have an interview of course prior to any job placement. I was highly annoyed at this, who flies half way across the world for a 'chance' to be hired for a teaching position. It's ridiculous. I had enough and tried to explain to them the illogical request, and how we have such wonderful things such as telephones, internet and even other means to hold some form of interviews. I didn't receive an email back for a while. Then I received, "Please come to Shenzhen, and we will discuss it further."

What a bunch of morons.

Thanks,
Robert A. Kerr

#17 Parent wonderhorse - 2007-12-03
More on Perlandas -- NOT TO BE BELIEVED!

Ok, readers... here's one of several job postings from Perlandas in recent days -- quite "shaky" to say the least! Read on...

TEACH IN SHENZHEN! around 11,000 RMB\month
By:PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY 12,000-15,000 RMB\month. <fennypelcc0755@yahoo.com.cn>
Date: 2 December 2007

Job 95: Teach Adults in Shenzhen (XMH)
9,000 RMB\month after tax.
Plus other benefits = around 11,000 RMB\month.
Around 30 classes\week. 45 minutes\class.
2 days free from Monday to Friday.
Work on weekends and other time through Monday to Friday.
6,000 RMB airfare after 1 year contract.
Need 2-3 full time teachers ASAP.
Other benefits will be negotiable.
Housing can be considered.

Start ASAP.

Start ASAP? No thanks! I'd rather what until you decide about the "considered" hoyusing!

This ad is so full of "red flags" (pardon the pun) that I can't begin to comment... You decide... A few inconsistencies, or what???

#18 Parent wonderhorse - 2007-12-02
Re: PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY -- HELLO!!!

Hello, John,

I'm very sorry to read of your frustrating experience with Perlandas. I'm not blaming you for your misfortune. I'm sure you believed that you asked all the "right" questions so as to avoid precisely what happened in the end. I am not implying that what happened was your fault.

With that being said, HELLO, PEOPLE! Can we all agree -- after countless negative posts regarding Perlandas -- that they need to be avoided? Clearly, this outfit has no real interest in English education, academic integrity, professional conduct, etc.

Let's stop cooperating with such dis-"organizations" until such con artists are put out of business. Until we collectively walk away from such crooked nonsense, foreign teachers and customers alike will be taken!

Continue reading these forums and make mental lists of which outfits should be avoided/boycotted!

I think we can easily say at this point that Perlandas is high on the list of those we should ignore!

John S. Drabble - 2007-12-02
PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY

Hello,

I went into Shenzhen to interview for a job with this agency. I made clear on the phone in the morning that this specific teaching job(from their written listings) was still available and the rate of pay etc. After getting into town, that involved a couple of hours, their office was a mess and no one really greeted me. It was quickly clear their advertised job was already gone or misrepresented, especially on salary which was quoted at a much lower rate. I walked out. A waste of my day.

Return to Index › PERLANDAS EDUCATION & LEGAL CONSULTING COMPANY






Go to another board -