SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学
#1 Parent Canadian Teacher - 2017-10-08
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

I visited this school personally. It was recently accredited by IBO as an IBDP World School and it is licensed as an American standard school by Advanc-Ed based on efforts of their former team, none of which are any longer in place so as to how long it can operate as an accredited school remains to be seen. The campus is clean and neat. Most of the foreign teachers are quitting as there is a psycho American female who is their acting "Head Teacher" that is a total head case without a clue that is tainting the waters. If you are black forget working there. The Chinese administration are racist assholes. The Chinese "Director" on the 3rd floor named WangJin is fresh out of a North Korean labor camp or so she acts like it. I spoke with her for about 10-minutes which was more than enough to tell me not to apply there. Like many so-called "International Schools" in China the place is mostly window dressing. By some accounts from the old guard, most of which are in the process of leaving, they were on the right track once upon a time but in the chase for money by selling faked grades and offering forged transcripts to rich Chinese parents for their precious darlings to go abroad, it all went to hell in a hand basket. They also have a middle school which I looked at in the embassy district. Its the same deal there. They have a lunatic there from the the USA named Kevin who is their proclaimed "Head Teacher" and in speaking with him, it is clear the man has no idea how to teach, much less be the head of anything. I was surprised to learn he is not licensed but yet he is in charge. Okay...The Canadian on site there who is licensed and holds a MA degree is pulling his hair out over mounding stupidity by the so-called management. The entire school as a whole is not worth your time in applying. Steer clear and keep walking. Incidentally if you work for IBO or Advanc-Ed you might want to show up unannounced for an audit.

#2 Parent Anon - 2016-07-17
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

The reason they are offering higher salaries is because of the center director, Li Dequan, and the Vice Principal, Li Xiaojun, being fired, and an American named Jordan being hired and needing to attract better teachers instead of the teachers selected by the predecessors. In response to the fiasco that occurred before, it is no wonder there are higher paying jobs for teachers. Also, after the College board and IB boards were contacted with the story of the illegally fired teacher, they will have a difficult time getting accredited, as well as the cases whereby teachers grades were not what the students received on their report cards.

#3 Parent Sharp - 2016-01-28
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

More schools than before are trying to compete with an extremely dirty market in PRC and more of them than before are learning that they have their own staff that speaks English adequately enough to use the internet for recruiting willing FTs. They are inflating FTs salaries to blind them into agreements to terms and conditions uncomparable to the ones from before. Neither the Chinese government nor the nation's educators or managers or business people have any sound lasting standards that would support their ethics. Even though FTs may be used to working the full time hours iwth quality programs in their nations, they most likely aren't accustomed to self-centered local attitudes that most often hide agenda an FT may not be able to decipher till it is too late. I only wish our nations would censor the internet that includes any recruitment of FTs to mainland China as this would close doors of local schools to looking for experienced FTs that are in the country. Further more, I long for a channel FTs established to fight the trend in the country with so poor standards in just about every area. An IB school can only be in business, if it has FTs as most locals are quite incapable to prep their students for abroad and as most local schools that prep their students for higher education abroad need some original connections to the foreign speaking nations.

#4 Parent Anonymous - 2016-01-27
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

The school is trying to get accreditation for Advanced Ed and IB, the Foreign Principal and ESL Manager have high standards for their Foreign and Chinese staff as they are trying to get this accreditation. Be prepared for long hours of work, day starts with classes at 730am, you can leave the office at 5pm. On the weekends you might be working on your own free time, doing various different tasks for your classes and for your IB training sessions. There are a variety of students ranging from low to high level as well as International Students. The apartment they provide if you decide not to take the housing stipend, is a basic dorm style apartment with a bed, desk, and bathroom/shower. Gets very dusty very quickly. The pollution overall in Beijing is pretty bad. All in all this school is okay but there will be a lot of work to do, hence the high salaries they are offering, be prepared also for detailed emails of your teaching performance, and lots of lesson plans to be done, 2 weeks in advance lesson plans. If you are looking for a work-life balance job, this may not be school you are looking for.

#5 Parent San Migs - 2015-06-21
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

Beijing circumvents the visa rules more than any other part of China. Corrupt and polluted ....

#6 Parent Arthur - 2015-06-21
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

Yet said school is allowed to advertise for FT's on these very boards. The lunatics are running the asylum!!!!!!

There is only one major complaint from a very disgruntled FT. Not enough to disgrace that school, in my opinion.

Advertisers get to advertise free on this board. What is good about this board is that it doesn't ignore even one complaint. Contrast Dave's ESL Cafe! This board is a good counter measure to Dave's strict censorship involving the deletion of all complaints made against his (paying) advertisers, and has helped FTs in making informed decisions about where to teach, so long as they googled a school's name!

Although it's a public school whose students are high achievers, it's run like a Western private school. So, FTs are under pressure there as part of a dedicated teaching staff. Hence the very high salaries.

Not my cup of tea, I'm a laid-back FT. I came to China to chill out. Teach to live is my motto. However, those who live to teach can go there, and the best of luck to them.

#7 Parent San Migs - 2015-06-20
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

Yet said school is allowed to advertise for FT's on these very boards. The lunatics are running the asylum!!!!!!

#8 Parent LaowaiinChina - 2015-06-20
Re Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

Hi, your experience sounds horrible, sorry to hear that. What classes did you end up teaching? You mentioned you did not teach AP English

bj80 sucks - 2014-05-22
Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学

The following is a statement of my experience while working at Beijing No. 80 High School (北京第八十中学). If you are thinking about working there or find someone named Li Dequan (李德泉) as part of any organization you have been made an offer from then you should consider working elsewhere. I was told by Director Li that I would be teaching A-level or AP classes, but was made to teach other classes despite my pointing out the lie on his part. I was not picked up from the airport, had to take a taxi, and was not reimbursed for the cost. I shipped the no criminal police report to the school using DHL but was never reimbursed upon my request. The teachers were required to participate in a “voluntary” Marzano teacher training conference and were never paid for attending the whole weekend event. The school converted my visa into a residence permit and I was told that my passport would be gone for 1 week; it was gone for 5 weeks. During a parent teacher meeting, I was censored by one of the teachers running the meeting when Kathy (Lei Shuang) refused to translate my question, “What does your son want to do with his life?” The air quality is extremely poor due to poor ventilation, abundance of dust, and formaldehyde and other volatile chemicals that are released from constant remodeling. Because of the poor air I got headaches within 1 hour of being in the building and sometimes my hands would start shaking within a few hours and other times my tongue would tingle and I would have a bad taste in my mouth from breathing the air. I was forbidden from giving college advice to students when one student did not understand my advice and complained about it. Out of the over 10 students I gave advice to, she or he was the only one complaining, and the administrators and college counselor did not like my unofficial role as college advisor even though I was working on my PhD before coming to China. All the other students I gave advice to were extremely thankful for my advice since they knew no other teacher in the school is as honest and resourceful as I am in that regard. One student, in his college essay, wrote that I was the inspiration for him wanting to study Engineering Physics (I was skeptical when I first read it, but was deeply touched afterwards). When I did not know much about the subjects students wanted to study in college, my friends employed in the subjects were more than glad to give their advice to the students. While on sick leave, I was fired and told I needed to leave the dormitory within a few hours. I returned all the school property and was taken to a hotel which the school paid for, but on the way there I was told that I needed to give the school over my passport such that they could cancel my residence permit. I did not hand over my passport and over 3 weeks I was repeatedly told that if I did not give my passport to the school then I would be breaking the law and may be blacklisted, if I did not cancel my residence permit with the Exit and Entry Bureau then I would be breaking the law, and finally that if I did not shorten my residence permit then the school would cancel my residence permit. They lied about it all. According to recent changes in Chinese law, employers are allowed to cancel a foreign employees residence permit if that employee is no longer working at the company; however, since I was fired illegally, the school would be violating Chinese law twice in such a case. The school promised to give me a new release letter (since the old one was false), my cancellation of FEC (foreign experts certificate), not to cancel my residence permit, and to transfer all the documents to my new employer; but, they lied about that as well. My lawyer and I finally filed a case against the school, but they have not responded to the suit. The suit includes request for payment of violations of my contract, of violations of labor law towards me, and of violation of labor law towards the Chinese government. The school has effectively prevented me from fulfilling the contract of my new employer by not giving me the documents that they are legally required to give. Thus, even if I accept the contract from my new employer, I won’t be able to provide all the documents necessary. As I wrote in the beginning, if you are thinking about working at Beijing No. 80 High School (北京第八十中学) or find someone named Li Dequan (李德泉) as part of the organization then you should consider working elsewhere. Also at the school are secretaries such as Zhang Jing/Selina (张静) and Xu Lei/Ethan, Vice Principal Li Xiaojun (李晓君), and Principal Tian Shulin (田树林) all of which you should avoid as well since they seem nice in the beginning but if they think you will expose their lies and deceit they will do everything in their power to fire you.

Return to Index › Beijing No. 80 High School 北京第八十中学






Go to another board -