SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell
#1 Parent Jeff's fan - 2017-10-31
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

No, no, you don't understand, I have no regrets (it was a learning curve), I am just pissed off, Jeff. Pissed off at Changshu International School and myself for believing their [email protected] and not walking the moment they started their lies.. I am glad that YOU only had 12 classes a week, so roughly 2 or 3 classes a day? Sounds really good when you say that way. :D I had about 5-6 classes a day :( and then the extra work they wanted, because the class I they gave me was so weak (when I got them). The truth is that I am a family man too, I actually had first hand experience too and I had a very bad experience, unlike you. Maybe it was because I didn't know whose [email protected]* to lick properly. I left because the job was distressing to me and my family. I think you didn't have your family in China? I am glad you have them to go back to. Good luck and I wish you well. Bu that doesn't change my main point, you are an exception. This school is pure and unadulterated garbage, take it from me. Maybe you just had a thicker skin than most. The rest of the complaints from EVERYONE are valid. Don't encourage others to come here!! Let it die a slow death and its stinking reputation reach everyone in good time. Time will tell and truth will out. Peace out!!

#2 Parent Jeff - 2017-10-24
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Most of the foreign teachers were only given 12 sessions a week (40mins/session) so it makes it 480 mins for a week= 8 hrs teaching load only. Well, i worked in the school for a year and I enjoyed it. I have to go back home, its different when you are a family man already, sometimes , its the time that you spent in your family that counts more than what you can give them financially. My point is, I have been to the school- I worked there, and I dont have any regrets, at all!

Im sad we had a different experience.

#3 Parent Jeff's fan - 2017-10-19
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Some have only 6-8hrs teaching loads a week. The teachers get very competitive
salaries,
they are off the school after 3pm and not given any night supervision
activities, foreign teachers are also being paid for their extra hours spent on
saturdays if required to teach.

Hahahahaha!!!! This is the funniest thing I have seen today. A school that offers 6-8 hours of teaching a week for FULL salary. Thank you, thank you! Please write another post, I think you could be even funnier. Pretty please.. :b You do ask a good question. "Whats the point.." To warn others, to make sure no one gets trapped in your wicked, wicked place of swampy work environment. If only one person reads this and changes his/her mind about working for you. mission accomplished. The weight of these lies are catching up to you. Soon you will have no place to hire and fool people. And stop telling people to leave China! Your school does not represent this country! Your school is a blight on this city, province AND country. May you roll up and shrivel like the moss on the bottom of a rock exposed to fresh air. We LOVE China. We all hate THIS school. Get over it and start fixing the problems, you idiot.

#4 Parent Donald B - 2017-10-19
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Hey J, 6-8 hours of work A WEEK.. WOW.. for a competitive salary and overtime for extra hours, WOW!. Sign me up man! Get out of China, hey? Nice one. Lol. I ain’t going nowhere you hypocrite. Smiling while you watch others get stabbed in the back, as long as your job is safe, hey? 5 years? Wait I believe you are right.. one teacher, lol. The rest? Everyone runs for the hills the moment their contract is up. This ain’t whining man, this is freedom talking baby, for all the pathetic lies I had to swallow from this school. The humiliation of begging for my salary and bonus while you smugly tell me I am lucky to have such a nice job. I now earn triple what you pathetic liars told me I could realistically earn in Changshu, so stfu with the bull. Shame on me being a newbie and believing your lies. It’s like they say, in a prison, (like Changshu International-lol-School) the sharks are the friendly ones. Shame on you for not owning up to your lies. 8 hrs of work.. :D Dude, That’s hilarious. Let me give you a moment to let that number sink in... As to you not getting the point.. it’s like this J, the mosquito doesn’t understand that it spreads malaria. THE POINT IS THAT THIS SCHOOL IS TOTAL AND COMPLETE GARBAGE.. Do you get it now? Anyways, no amount of paint or marketing will cover the stink that this school has collected. It’s rotten from the inside. Get it, J? Read the blogs.. it’s all complaints, except for the hacks the school are asking to write good reviews. Like you, maybe? So keep posting your photos and comment of how wonderful this school is and we will keep posting the truth. Let’s see who has more effect. Have a good day J. Peace out!

#5 Parent Jeff - 2017-10-02
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

I dont get the point why people here are just telling lies about the school. There are foreign teachers who have renewed and stayed for morethan 5 years already. The workloads given to the foreign teachers are quite few and even much below the usual teaching hours. Some have only 6-8hrs teaching loads a week. The teachers get very competitive salaries, they are off the school after 3pm and not given any night supervison activities, foreign teachers are also being paid for their extra hours spent on saturdays if required to teach. So whats the point of telling these bad things which is just too far from reality???, and why are you doing this?, have you been or worked at Changshu International School? I pitty you man for your sour grapes. Get out of China and go back to your country. You are a shame to join in the workplace promoting positive attitude. You are such a jerk!

#6 Parent I also knew a friend ( actually many friends) - 2017-09-27
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

If only life was that simple... "I knew a friend" is a ridiculous statement. Why are you even talking here? Listen to people who have actually worked there, not your "friend" who probably just started. They will tell him (her?) many bullshit stories, make unrealistic promises and yes they may be lucky enough to get the visa, but once they do, they will be hit with a shit storm of attitude and abuse. There is the mission creep effect, where they slowly increase the number of hours you work and don't count that as work time, so no overtime. there will be clubs and activities they will add and forget to add to your scheduled time. If you complain you will be seen as a whiner. You will be told to shut up and do what you are told, regardless of the effect this has on your morale or students attitude. You will have colleagues that will connive behind your back and say how bad you are as a teacher or a person. Yes, I am serious, there is a reason this school has such a terrible reputation in the city. So please, before you quote a story about your "friend", spend some time talking to people that have actually gone through the Changshu International School experience. Then more people will start to care about your opinion on this matter. Hope you have a good day. :D

#7 Parent Peed Off with Changshu NOT International School - 2017-09-27
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Don't waste your time man! This school is in so much trouble they keep having to recruit from the bottom of the barrel. Their reputation is shit in Changshu and most people know about them in this region. They have a few good and dedicated people, but they keep losing teachers during the term and then having to replace them. I know a few people who worked there and they seemed genuinely concerned about the state of things. It seems nothing can save them on with their race to the bottom. About the only thing that they can do now is to pay more, but even that won't last. The truth is out there and the smell is attracting the flies. Let it sink before it can be saved.

#8 Parent Jake - 2017-08-19
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

I believe the HR in this school is doing their efforts well, I knew a friend who applied and is now about to finish all the documents for work visa processing and they ensured that all requirements for employment gets done before going to China. So some of the posts here that there are illegal workers with no work visa is completeley a LIE.

#9 Parent Allan - 2017-08-19
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

This is bullshit! There are no illegal workers in CIS. All teachers has their work visas. The school even secured first all the necessary requirements before going to CIS. So all teachers has their work visas prior to going to China.

#10 Parent Lord Of The Fuerdai - 2017-08-16
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Stop lying, your school is a well known laughing stock in and around Changshu. Get lost mate and stop hiring illegal teachers before I call my friend who is a top official in the local Suzhou government on you.

#11 Parent Greg C - 2017-08-06
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

You are so right, I second this post. just completed my tour at Changshu International School and I should have taken note of your warning. It was everything you described and worse. I thought you were just a whining foreigner, boy was I mistaken. This school is indeed "The armpit of Hell" and should be investigated for gross violations of labor laws and contracts. >:(

#12 Parent GuGi - 2017-06-21
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Why you lie so much? Changshu International School is really, really nice school. You is a horrible teacher who we dismiss because you bring shame to school and yourself. Please go away and leave, because we have really nice teachers now. They small make trouble and do what they told. I am happy you go home. I hate teachers came to our school and make our school a bad place. Please go back to your country and leave us alone. Why you say such bad thing on Internet? You is a very bad liar. I am too angry with you.

#13 Parent GuGi - 2017-06-21
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou)

Yes, I agree with you. I was in the final stages of the application for this school and I went, what? what? No way! I actually did what was suggested and asked around about the school. Almost everything said in the article was kinda true. It's better if I just accept a job at a school without so much baggage. I am sure that the people are nice at the school and they all seemed happy enough, but hey why should I take a chance? Suzhou and Changshu have so many better offers. And the salary is not really that much higher than others. I think if they want to save their reputation they gonna have to up that way high. Anyways, I wish anyone at the school or those wishing to join good luck. :D

#14 Parent Funny bone - 2017-06-04
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Ok, so you want an honest review. Let us start with your management team. I have worked in China for about 4 years now and in that time I have never seen such a bunch of outright liars. They are petty and vindictive and outright con artists from the vice-principal down to the “admin enforcers”. They are constantly lying to parents, teachers and students. You know the truth or are you so blinded by the crumbs they throw your way that you are unable to see them for what they are? Tell me, if an honest assessment was done, how many of the students would actually pass the set exams based on the curriculum you are teaching? So you perpetuate the lies in order to keep the school from collapsing?

About the only one I trusted in your school was the guy called A (who I believe has left now) who actually had a sense of decency. I don’t know Cory, so my viewpoint about him is limited. You can write this off as disgruntled, but the truth is that you have changed your teachers so often; I dare you to remember the teacher who taught Grade 1 of your class, before you arrived. As much as I hope that your school changes, I know that it won’t. At least Sherrie was honest about your situation, pity she left. All that is left is the carcass of what should have been a school and now the vultures are picking off the pieces.

You want to call bullshit? Take some time to read up about your school. How many ex-teachers have anything good to say about your school? How many would return, if given the chance, even if offered more money? I dare you to call them and ask them to give a positive review of Changshu International School. I have a list if you need (outdated now, but I’m sure you can find a recent one). I am certain almost all of them would tell you to “eff off”. This is not normal and you know it! Can all the ex-teachers be so wrong or vindictive? What happened in your school that made them so hateful? You say many teachers have re-signed, I call you on that bullshit then. Every term, I am sure teachers quit or new teachers join to replace them. In my time, I saw many teachers join up after a teacher packs up and just quits (or fired?). So this whole thing about teachers staying is an unverifiable smokescreen and a dumb one at that. Who is fooling who?

You are right, Changshu is a great city and the facilities are good. Everything you say about that city is true. Pity the school is located in such a poor area and taxis refused on many occasions to take us there at night. Don’t talk about the bus route, which changes as the roads are repaired! The bus route to and from the city is horrendous. Changshu city is a wonderful city to live if you a foreigner, it’s the school that’s the problem, so don’t confuse the two. The best thing to happen to your school was this post. Shine a light onto this cockroach filled dunny and let in some fresh air I say. Good luck with your publicity stunt. I am sure you will do a “good job” and convince people what a great school you have. Maybe even a pat on the head and a cookie for such a loyal bootlicker.

All prospective teachers have to do is ask any ex-teacher what it was like to know the truth.

But hey, good luck. (btw, learn to spell, its spelled “deficient” – English teacher?)

#15 Parent Grade 4 - 2017-05-30
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

This post is a complete lie. The only true thing in this post is that the school is about 8km from the city centre but there are two bus routes and taxis will take you out here. The rest is completely untrue and purposely misleading. The two people that wrote this post re-signed at the school for another school year. If they really think these things they both should just leave and not post malicious and misleading things under other peoples names.

#16 Parent FTinPRC - 2017-05-27
Changshu International School the Brooklyn Bridge of Chinese schools

This is one of the best schools in
China any qualified teacher could work with.

Cory? He is actually the best recruiter you can ever come across

Wow! I'm disappointed that you didn't attach an application.

The three previous posters that go into great detail about the shortcomings of CIS must be disgruntled employees.

It's refreshing to have an even-handed, balanced report from an unbiased employee.

#17 Parent Bernard - 2017-05-27
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

This is absolute bullshit! I have been working with Changshu International school since last year and yes, I've renewed my contract because I'm treated well. Everything in this write-up is no where close to truth. I even had my work visa before heading to China and there is not a single staff without a work visa. This is one of the best schools in China any qualified teacher could work with. Most of the teachers have re-signed new contracts for the next academic year so what are you talking about? Better get your bad attitude asses together to fit into a proper working environment.

Oh, did you mention Cory? He is actually the best recruiter you can ever come across. Dude is really witty. Having any problem with Cory simply means you are somehow 'common sense defcient'. Your description of Changshu and it's closeness to Suzhou, taxi services, etc typically unveils your ignorance and I think you should be sued for defamation. Get your facts right and deal with your own working attitude to fit well into a proper working environment.

#18 Parent mad former staff - 2017-05-10
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Additional point, there were reports of assault on the children as well as to the foreign teachers by a Chinese director that was the reported to the head master. It was covered up and no action was taken by the school. .

#19 Parent [email protected] - 2017-05-07
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

Greetings Holly,

Just a little history here ... once upon a time, Changshu International School was a really decent little place to work...but then it went bankrupt and it was acquired by the same private education group that runs Suzhou Foreign Language School, where the infamous Kevin the Pervert the Pizza Boy worked for 13 years, and the Nanjing Foreign Language School and one other school in Jiangsu.

When it changed hands, everything went downhill. Absolutely everything. All of the "foreign" administrators were parachuted in from the Suzhou Foreign Language School, where the 375 pound Kevin trained them all. The Suzhou Foreign Language School was always in chaos so one could hardly expect the Changshu International School to be any different. Because of all kind of problems with the Jiangsu Foreign Expert Bureau, the Changshu school started having serious problems in obtaining Z visas for its teachers. Real serious problems. Also, and again because of the infamous Kevin, the reputation of the Changshu school truly suffered and no one but one wanted to work there. You write that many teachers left after the end of one year. This is not true -- the truth is much worse. Many teachers ran away, disappeared at the end of the first semester, some even left after a few days.

And the Cory that you write about is and was an "intimate" friend of the infamous Kevin, if you understand my meaning.

As for taxis not taking you there after dark, that is a common occurrence in Changshu. Changshu is actually a rather pretty city and a rather prosperous city by Chinese standards. Its GNP is the seventh in China. It is rather laowai-friendly and laowai are not gawked on the street as such would happen in many other Chinese cities. Public transport is minimal at best and most buses stop running after about 18h00. There are many internationally known stores -- Walmart, Carrefour, Auchamp, etc., and foreign products are readily available. Changhsu is NOT a good place to learn Chinese, however, and most Changshunese speak in Wu dialect as opposed to proper Mandarin.

But as for the school, it is definitely an "avoid" at least at the present time.

#20 Parent Niko - 2017-05-07
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

I have been offered a teaching position in this school and I am now in the process of securing all the necessary documents. I have just seen this review and I don't know if I am going my pursue my application or not.

#21 Parent expat hubby - 2017-04-25
Re Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

"If you have any plans to have good times in Suzhou, avoid Changshu International School – (CIS so called) at all costs. It’s an uncaring, unprofessional school and a total waste of time for a professional teacher to work there. The mostly untrained staff is composed mostly of egotistical admin, occasional drug users or making a side line in drug dealing. There are a few hardworking teachers who do excellent work under abnormal circumstances and that is a tragedy. Because of their current odious reputation, they have now resorted to hiring unqualified, non-native speakers to fill teaching positions that legally may only be filled by native language speakers and giving them fake business or tourist visas. (This may be cost related, since it is cheaper this way) They constantly have complete turnover of foreign staff throughout the year and are always looking for new naive recruits or dumb victims. Most are recruited through the duplicitous and fraudulent Suzhou Boren HR Consulting Company and are told that Changshu International School is new, with high level of academics and support services. Instead, they find that they are posted to a school that is 8 kilometers from the closest city and based in a rural and filthy farmland area. (Even taxis refuse to go there after 9pm, so good luck going back after you have a late dinner) If you choose to live on campus, you have to listen to the alarms going off at 6am in the morning on your days off and even on holidays you are blasted by constant marching music in the early hours. If you choose to live off campus, you have to take broken e-bikes provided every morning at 7am in heavy smog.

The amount of lies and deception that the school puts out is so much that the teachers’ very quickly just count down the time of their contracts, so they know when they can leave. When you do decide to leave, they can be very vindictive and will usually give you a bad reference, just to make it difficult for you to get a new job. Every qualified teacher that they have ever had has quit after a 1 year contract and those who stay treat the position as a joke. It is well known in the nearby city that this school is a sad parody of a learning institution. It is in the middle of an undeveloped area (mostly farms - use Google map to check), with only one long and uncomfortable single bus route connecting it to the nearby city. The so-called International Department is run by an incompetent, dishonest and totally amoral management team that will lie to your face when they are asked for any help, perfectly represented by a lying two-faced rat called Cory. They have in the past kept a qualified teacher on a tourist visa for a full contract year and made him leave the country every 3 months to get it renewed, at his own expense. They made no attempt to get him a work visa, even though it was a legal contractual requirement. He eventually left, one hopes in utter disgust at their nonchalance and malicious incompetence. They have also in the past promoted a clueless Senior Teacher to a position he was totally unsuited for, causing many problems in the school until he left. The list goes on and on. Just spend time in the city talking to the many ex-teachers to get the full scoop.

Changshu has many other fine schools and it is sad that Changshu International School has cast such blight on their image. I hope that this message can stop just one more person who might be caught by their lies. You have been warned."

Yes, thanks very much for warning us.

I have to say I'm very surprised that the visa illegalities are occurring in Changsu City of Suzhou. It cannot be described as one of China's many "backwater" belts!

Holly Adams - 2017-04-24
Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell

If you have any plans to have good times in Suzhou, avoid Changshu International School – (CIS so called) at all costs. It’s an uncaring, unprofessional school and a total waste of time for a professional teacher to work there. The mostly untrained staff is composed mostly of egotistical admin, occasional drug users or making a side line in drug dealing. There are a few hardworking teachers who do excellent work under abnormal circumstances and that is a tragedy. Because of their current odious reputation, they have now resorted to hiring unqualified, non-native speakers to fill teaching positions that legally may only be filled by native language speakers and giving them fake business or tourist visas. (This may be cost related, since it is cheaper this way) They constantly have complete turnover of foreign staff throughout the year and are always looking for new naive recruits or dumb victims. Most are recruited through the duplicitous and fraudulent Suzhou Boren HR Consulting Company and are told that Changshu International School is new, with high level of academics and support services. Instead, they find that they are posted to a school that is 8 kilometers from the closest city and based in a rural and filthy farmland area. (Even taxis refuse to go there after 9pm, so good luck going back after you have a late dinner) If you choose to live on campus, you have to listen to the alarms going off at 6am in the morning on your days off and even on holidays you are blasted by constant marching music in the early hours. If you choose to live off campus, you have to take broken e-bikes provided every morning at 7am in heavy smog.

The amount of lies and deception that the school puts out is so much that the teachers’ very quickly just count down the time of their contracts, so they know when they can leave. When you do decide to leave, they can be very vindictive and will usually give you a bad reference, just to make it difficult for you to get a new job. Every qualified teacher that they have ever had has quit after a 1 year contract and those who stay treat the position as a joke. It is well known in the nearby city that this school is a sad parody of a learning institution. It is in the middle of an undeveloped area (mostly farms - use Google map to check), with only one long and uncomfortable single bus route connecting it to the nearby city. The so-called International Department is run by an incompetent, dishonest and totally amoral management team that will lie to your face when they are asked for any help, perfectly represented by a lying two-faced rat called Cory. They have in the past kept a qualified teacher on a tourist visa for a full contract year and made him leave the country every 3 months to get it renewed, at his own expense. They made no attempt to get him a work visa, even though it was a legal contractual requirement. He eventually left, one hopes in utter disgust at their nonchalance and malicious incompetence. They have also in the past promoted a clueless Senior Teacher to a position he was totally unsuited for, causing many problems in the school until he left. The list goes on and on. Just spend time in the city talking to the many ex-teachers to get the full scoop.

Changshu has many other fine schools and it is sad that Changshu International School has cast such blight on their image. I hope that this message can stop just one more person who might be caught by their lies. You have been warned.

Return to Index › Welcome to Changshu International School (Changshu city, Suzhou) The armpit of Hell






Go to another board -