SCHOOLS AND RECRUITERS REVIEWS
Return to Index › Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam
#1 Parent Observer - 2017-11-06
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Someone needs to create a website or at least post on existing sites like this one to expose this agency and the people behind it: Name them, shame them, post their phone numbers and email addresses + street address. The more info the better.

#2 Parent Observer - 2017-11-06
Re: Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Stay away, that's a scam.

#3 Parent concerned ESL - 2017-08-12
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

These are some of the oldest scam artists in China targeting foreigners for exploitation since 1999 in the lucrative ESL Recruitment market of foreign English teachers. There were literally over 150 negative posts about them online at thebeijinger, esl cafe, CFTU, and elsewhere.

One of the most notorious scam agents in all of China is "Hangzhou Helen" or "Helen Chen", and even after 5 years of over 160 complaints to the CTA and CFTU nobody knows her real Chinese name. She is based out of the city of Hangzhou in Zhejiang Province and uses 7 different alias company names that are all affiliated with her. The two biggest ones are China TEFL Network and Haida.

If you are dealing with Helen or Rosie in any of the 7 agencies they use (including Haida), you are probably about to get swindled. They do have a business license but not in the names they use to advertise more than 100 jobs a day online. Helen and her affiliates have been blacklisted since 2010 for the following reasons;

* Failure to provide foreign teachers their last paycheck
* Illegally holding the passports of foreign teachers
* Recruiting illegal foreign teachers on L, F, & M visas (Z Visa required by law)
* Extorting foreign teachers big bucks to get their release letters
* Salary skimming (as much as 40%)
* Placements of teachers with black unregistered schools
* Selling fake university degrees to unqualified teachers
* Selling TEFL certificates to anyone with cash

Individual horror stories about Helen filled the internet by the dozens, but in 2014 she hired a hacker who started deleting them to erase her track record of fraud, abuse, and teacher exploitation. Aside from her lack of ethics, the jobs she has to offer are some of the lowest paying in all of China. Here is a typical complaint from 2012: https://eslwatch.info/en/china/3-rev...t-warning.html and some more complaints and comments: https://eslwatch.info/en/china/3-rev...t-warning.html What the hell, here are a few more in case you think I am blowing smoke up your butt;

https://www.reddit.com/r/China/comme...u_helen_group/

http://answers.echinacities.com/ques...ls-helen-group

http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-...mes;read=62134

Haida is an affiliate agent of Helen Chen. They work so closely together they are believed to be the same company although they both deny, yet they share past and present sales reps.

admin@helengroup.com: TEL: 86-571-88234567 : ext.8011,8012,8013: Hotline: (0086) 400-826-1331: Add: ... Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China Also ChinaTefl.com, HelenGroup.com, and she is always trying to convince people she is part of prestigious Zhejiang University but the University says they are NOT affiliated, and have told her many times to stop using their name!

#4 Parent concerned ESL - 2017-08-12
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

They don't care what your experience is, they use fake documents and degrees to get your permits. They only care about getting you placed somewhere so that they can get paid, they have literally no interest in whether or not you are suitable for the position.

#5 Parent shenzhenscot - 2017-08-09
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

yeah, haida are just con artists. they are in three cities in china, in shenzhen they are really bad.

to all those being dismissive of the concerns raised here - just because you got lucky doesn't excuse haida's immoral, exploitative and sometimes even illegal behaviour!

myself and many teachers i worked alongside have serious issues with them.

they rushed me to come to china on a tourist visa and told me i could get it changed to a work visa easily when i got here. this was not true, it took about three months of constantly having to take days off work to go to bureaus to get sorted. (time off that haida tried to tell ny school was because of me being unorganised rather than them)

they are refusing to return my documents to me

they have three adults sharing a two bedroom flat, not what was promised at all! (i can compromise on many things but not on living conditions)

they take money from my salary without explaining why (it just says other, and they cant tell me what tjat means!)

i am supposed to be working as an english teacher, but i've been placed in a unit for kids with learning difficulties (i'm not qualified for this!)

i got the trade union to look at my contract with haida, and they said it violates multiple parts of the labour code in china. (haida know most foreigners will assume the contract is legal)

and thats just my issues with them!

i'm happy for anyone who worked for haida without any issues, but you seem to be in the minority. i won't be signing a new contract with them and my advice to anyone considering an offer from them is to say 'no thanks'. there are more esl jobs here than there are people to fill them, you'll find someone better than haida quite easily

#6 Parent Expat Girl ~_* - 2017-08-07
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

You're so negative!~ I've been with haida for a whole year. They got my back when I was in trouble. No company is perfect but at least this company cares! remember you're in China and not your own house back home, so learn to move on and stop crying. well, have a nice day ;)

#7 Parent MichMich - 2017-06-28
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

I am an engineer and got contacted by someone from this agency on LinkedIn. It sounds a bit weird as they only mention teaching positions on their website, which does not fit at all with my profile. I was wondering what sort of spam it could be and how they could make profit out of it.

#8 Parent BigBro - 2017-06-19
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

By the way. If a private agent under the name "Rose Wu" contacts you, just do not waste your time. She is going to give your info to Haida telling you that many teachers are glad with the treatment of the company. However, If you ask her the contact of those teachers, she is reluctand to do it by saying something like she can not do it or you are unreasonable to ask that kind of info.

#9 Parent BigBro - 2017-06-16
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

I recently was interviewed by Frannie from Haida HR, in this case based in Shenzhen. During the interview she told me that she┬┤d start finding suitable Spanish language teaching vacancies in Hangzhou and Chengdu.

She wrote me today to say me that 2 schools in Chengdy are interested. However, she is no willing to provide information about the working conditions and benefits. I made sure about this by asking her repeatedly about them. She spends like to asnwer something such as 20 hours per week via Skype. but, when the moment to provide my personal info comes, she answers at the moment. Besides, to her attemp of refusing to provide info, during the interview of 40 min that we had, she was constantly adjusting the camera to do not show her whole face.

Maybe, these is not enough to say if they are a scam, but I am suspicious about sending them more info (such as intro video or personal info) and sign a contract with them due the lack of info by Haida Agency.

Is there anyone here who has worked with them in Chengdu?

#10 Parent Ben Noon - 2017-05-30
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam
#11 Parent Bleh Blah - 2017-05-23
Re: Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

The people who work their are lovely

The confusion of "their" and "there" is a mistake native speakers make.

But not all of us can put two words together effectively.

#12 Parent Observer - 2017-05-23
Re: Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Your Chinglish is crap

#13 Parent Beth Tooze - 2017-05-23
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

I worked for Haida for a year and I found them to be very professional. The school they paired me with was fantissric and the apartment they put me in was pleasant. Obviously they are not western style apartments from all the ones I've seen that Haida placed people in they were either pleasent or very nice. The people who work their are lovely and they solve problems that you bring to them very quickly. Even since I've left, they have gone out of their way to help me with admin things and references that I've needed ect. Obviously everyone's experiences are different but I would recommend Haida very highly.

#14 Parent Sean - 2017-05-03
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

I too just recently interviewed with Lisa. Did you end up working with Haida? If so, what was your experience like? Any advice you can offer is much appreciated!

#15 Parent FTinPRC - 2017-04-13
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam


This is my 1st year in China as a basketball teacher.

Haida is the agency to reach out to if you want to teach basketball in China.
English... not so much.

#16 Parent Alias Taffy - 2017-04-14
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Vernell? Is that the American spelling for 'Vernal' If so, a good name for a basket ball coach. Are you also required to teach English?

#17 Parent Vernell - 2017-04-13
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

This is my 1st year in China as a basketball teacher. I'm from San Diego, Ca. This is officially my 7th month here in Hangzhou. Haida is not a scam!!!!! If you are like me in anyway, meaning you are scared to death that you will sign a contract and get screwed over then Haida is most definitely not a scam and they are a legit company. The people on here talking about scams are talking about it in a way after learning the monetary factors of being a teacher in China. I wouldn't want anyone who was in my similar position of having a potential great experience be lost because people are screaming scam with no context giving.

#18 Parent Martina - 2017-01-12
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Hi Max,

wow, you really worried me with this info. They have just contacted me and I'm supposed to have an interview with them tomorrow, as I want to work in China as a music teacher. Can you reccommend any good and honest work agencies in China? Thanks so much for your review!

#19 Parent zoowaves - 2016-12-04
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Thanks for posting this. It will save me a lot of trouble.

#20 Parent Jazzy - 2016-11-05
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Stay away from Haida. They repeatedly lie and trick people. They break the law and you will wind up stuck as no one will help you. They could care less about teachers or students. They are just in it for the money. They will rip you off anyway they can. Yes, the schools pay a lot of money for teachers---but Haida pays horridly. Some agencies are even worse of course, others better. Stay away from Haida!! They will only exploit you!

#21 Parent Bigtown - 2016-08-12
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Now you are the hero and protector of teachers? So good man. Feek proud.

#22 Parent amused - 2016-07-22
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

the plot was that Max was highly delighted that the agency were [sic] handing him free degrees

Acquiring personal information by a ruse is both unethical and illegal in many countres, not unlike claiming to have a PhD degree by FTs unable to write English.

#23 Parent PhD teacher - 2016-07-21
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

[edited] No, the plot was that Max was highly delighted that the agency were handing him free degrees and other tasties until things started going wrong.

As for agencies trying to get e-mail contacts. What's sinister in that? Trying to drum up business I shouldn't wonder.

#24 Parent Jack - 2016-07-22
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Hi Max/Everybody,

I had a great interview with Haida, and I got a teacher position in Hangzhou Xuejun High School, I have a Bachelore diplom, the salary 8000 RMB/month...

I need a more information about this company soon, because my contract will be arrived in this week.

Thank you in advice

Jack
(plz email me: fiverrphotoandvideo at gmail dot com)

#25 Parent amused - 2016-07-21
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

This positing is an attempt by a recruiter to collect email addresses from prospective teachers.

#26 Parent Jack - 2016-07-21
(Message Deleted by Poster)
#27 Parent me2 - 2016-05-13
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Hey, I am in the same boat, but for Haida HR in Hangzhou... I am looking to find information since it seems like an awesome experience to teach abroad, but there is such little information on Haida that I am growing more and more suspicious that they are likely scamming expats. I emailed my recruiter and interviewer with my concerns, so if you would like, feel free to email me at dogpro7@yahoo.com and I will let you know how my information search goes. Please email me if you find more information as well.

#28 Parent My name is nobody - 2016-02-10
Re Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Did you deal with Lisa Guan? I am in the process of securing a job with them in Ningbo, are they truly liars and crooks? I have signed a contract with them, stipulating they pay my entry flight in to China on the first month of arrival. Your advice is appreciated. I have not booked my ticket, not yet.

Max - 2015-12-03
Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam

Hi my name is Max, I worked for Haida for a month, and this what they did to me :

1. They did fake a degree for me saying that I have a Master degree in science although I only have a BA degree. Of course their partner school can pay more cash to Haida because of this fake document, all money at the end goes to the boss. Haida used to get from that school 12,000 CNY on every month I work, but my contract says my salary is 6500 RMB.

2.Amending my resume without telling me, telling schools that I have teaching experience etc which is not right.

3. Forging a TEFL degree for me, again they did this without telling me.

4. Sending me photos of decent accommodation but reality is the accommodation I was offered really horrible, full of roaches and it's totally different.

After I discovered all of this, I found myself in a big trouble as all documents they provided to the gov. are fake ! So, I was in a situation where the only option I have is to flee !

Do not work for Haida.

This is an urgent warning, Haida's website is www.haida-hr.com .

Haida is a big scam.

Haida Agency in Hangzhou is faking teachers documents.

Haida does illegal stuff.

Return to Index › Haida Agency in Hangzhou is a big scam






Go to another board -