English schools in China

School:Nankai University

A key multidisciplinary and research-oriented university directly under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Education, Nankai University,located in Tianjin on the border of the sea of Bohai, is also the alma mater of our beloved late Premier Zhou Enlai.

Nankai University was founded in 1919 by the famous patriotic educators, Mr. Zhang Boling and Mr. Yan Xiu. During the Anti-Japanese war (1937-1945), Nankai University, Peking University (Beijng University) and Tsinghua University (Qinghua University) united in Kunming to form the renowned Southwest Associated University. It was compared to be "The North Star of Higher Learning".

Equipped with top academic capability and creative spirit, Nankai University has a well-balanced faculty team in age and specialties. Among the 1,696 faculties, there are 607 Doctoral supervisors, 650 professors and 664 associate professors, 8 academicians of Chinese Academy of Science and Chinese Academy of Engineering, 4 academicians of The 3rd World Academy of Science, 10 members of the Subject Assessment Division, Degree Appraisal Committee of the State Council, 13 nationally accredited experts with outstanding contributions, 19 chair professors and 9 lecture professors invited on "Yangtse River Scholar Award program", 4 chair professors invited by Tianjin municipality, 25 recipients of National Outstanding Talent Foundation, 58 recipients of Excellent Young Teachers Prize supported by Ministry of Education (including the former Cross Century Talents Foundation under Ministry of Education), 16 teachers selected by national "Millions of Talents Program", 11 teachers awarded by the Ministry of Education with the honor of "Outstanding College Lecturers" and 3 national famous masters of higher education.

Nankai University has broad international communications by establishing exchanging and collaborative relationships with more than 100 international universities and academic institutions. Nobel Laureates Chen Ning Yang, Tsung-Dao Lee, Samuel Chao Chung Ting, Robert A. Mundell, and Reinhard Selton as well as former President of Korea Kim Dae Jung and former US Secretary of State Henry Kissinger were all conferred Honorary Professors of Nankai University. Many other world-known scholars and entrepreneurs have been invited as Visiting Professors of Nankai University.

Go to another board -