Learn to TEACH English with TECHNOLOGY. Free course for American TESOL students.

TESOL certification course online recognized by TESL Canada & ACTDEC UK.

Visit Driven Coffee Fundraising for unique school fundraising ideas.

Texas ISD School Guide
Texas ISD School Guide

English schools in Australia and New Zealand

New Zealand - Wellington
School:Victoria University of Wellington

Located in the centre of New Zealand’s capital city, Victoria University of Wellington has been a fully government accredited university for over 100 years.

VUW combines the benefits of a long and distinguished tradition with innovation, and a strong sense of commitment to serving the needs of its students. Qualifications awarded by Victoria University of Wellington are internationally recognised and transferable.

Victoria has a student population of around 20,000 and welcomes over 4000 new students every year. International students make up about 15% of the student community and come from over 80 different countries.

Teaching and research are central to a tradition of academic excellence that reaches back over a hundred years. Over 20% of Victoria’s students are engaged in postgraduate study.

Three strategically located sites in the heart of Wellington and a number of unique relationships within the government, business and arts communities, ensure Victoria University is an integral part of New Zealand’s capital city.

Sitting in the ‘dress circle’ of Wellington, New Zealand’s scenic harbour capital, Victoria’s main Kelburn campus enjoys an idyllic setting. Its elevated position commands stunning views, and has the dual benefit of removing the University’s main campus from the hustle and bustle of a thriving inner city, whilst remaining just a few minutes’ walk from the city centre.

Wellington’s Victoria University was created through an Act of Parliament inspired by Premier Richard Seddon in 1897. His desire was to establish a "College in Wellington in commemoration of the sixtieth year of the reign of Her Majesty Queen Victoria". The University’s four pioneering Professors – Brown, Mackenzie, Easterfield and Maclaurin – arrived in the capital two years later to take up their duties.

Go to another board -